The Town of Bristol is located in west central Ontario County, in the State of New York. It occupies an area of 36 square miles or 22,840 acres. It is approximately 35 miles southeast of Rochester, 8 miles southwest of Canandaigua, 13 miles south of Victor, and 12 miles north of Naples.
Elevations in the town range from 850 to 1,950 feet above sea level. The only
relatively level land is in the Bristol Valley, which extends the entire length
of the town, north to south. Mud Creek flows through Bristol Valley from south
to north and is the principle waterway, which facilitates drainage for the town.
The creek eventually empties into the Barge Canal. The three north and south ridges which compose the terrain of Bristol are the spurs or northernmost reaches of the Allegheny Mountains.The natural features of Bristol make it a source of never-ending beauty.
When the Senecas first roamed these hills and valleys, the region was crowned by
a dense growth of timber. Maples and elms grew on the flat land. On the hills,
oak and chestnut predominated, intermingled with pine, beech, hemlock, ash,
basswood, hickory, poplar, ironwood, butternut, buttonwood, wild cherry, and a
few other varieties.
It is said, wolves and bear roamed the forest, panthers haunted the deep ravines
in the hilly regions, and stealthy wild cats crouched in the trees. Deer glided
gracefully in the shadows—squirrels were everywhere—the red, grey and black
of the species.
History records that the first white men to visit Bristol were the French
explorer, Robert de LaSalle, and the missionary, Galinee. In August 1669, they
visited the Seneca village south of Victor to await an Indian escort to Ohio.
While negotiations were pending, Galinee recorded: "In order to pass away
the time, I went with M. de LaSalle, under escort of two Indians, about four
leagues (ten miles) south of the village (Victor) where we were staying, to see
a very extraordinary spring. Issuing from a moderately high rock, it forms a
small brook. The water is very clear, but it has a bad order, like that of the
mineral marshes of Paris, when the mud on the bottom is stirred with the foot. I
applied a torch and the water immediately took fire and burned like brandy and
was not extinguished until it rained. The flame is among the Indians a sign of
abundance or fertility, according as it exhibits the contrary qualities. There
is no appearance of sulphur, or any other combustible material. The water has
not even any taste and I can neither offer or imagine any better explanation
than that it acquires the combustible property by passing over some aluminous
Neither the Indians nor the white man realized that is was natural gas, coming
from underground and bubbling through the water that caused the water to burn.
Probably set afire by lightning for the first time, the flame was several feet
high and burned until extinguished by a heavy rain or high wind. More than
hundred years passed before it was discovered that gas could be used for heat
When Walter Case owned the "Burning Spring" farm, he and his wife
often cooked over the flame of the spring—it was a hot flame, and at that
time, rose to a height of eighteen inches. The drilling of gas wells in the area
has caused the flame to become much smaller.
On July 10, 1937, the glen was the scene of one of the many celebrations staged
in commemoration of the 250th anniversary of the LaSalle and Denonville
expeditions. A log cabin "trading post" was built and a pageant
presented on a coast-to-coast radio program.
The Burning Cave on the same property, may be considered more spectacular, but
is not as much of a curiosity as the burning waters of the creek. On the side of
the twenty-five foot falls is a deep niche and from within its inky darkness, a
steady flame burns. Called a cave, it does not permit a person to stand upright,
and the heat of the flame prevents crouching within it.
For many years, the glen at the Burning Spring was the most popular place for
picnics for the local folks and excursions for tourists.
In 1969, the Tax List of Bristol named the owners of twenty-two taxable
commercial gas wells in the town. During the period 1915-1935, there were many
private gas wells on various farms; at that time, one could have a well dug for
about $200. Sometimes, wells were dug and no gas was found, or it might be a
small vein, which was quickly used up, but if a rich vein were found, it heated
a home for many years. Natural gas was not only Bristol’s first connection
with history, but has been an enduring tie to it.
A gas well "rig" during the earlier search for gas or possibly oil in
In the angle formed by County Road 2 and Flatiron Road, there was a large
Indian Village; a smaller one was located near Randall Gully in the southern
part of town, just off present Route 64; another was east of Route 64, on a hill
south of the Fisher Hill Road. A small village was located on the rise of ground
northeast of Baptist Hill and another near the Burning Spring. There were eight
Indian sites in Bristol.
On September 11, 1779, General Sullivan’s troops marched through Bristol on
Lot No. 3, crossed Mud Creek on Lot No. 4, and followed the Indian trail to
Honeoye. He must have burned the village at Flatiron Road, just as he destroyed
the Indian village at Canandaigua, before entering Bristol.
An amusing story is told by Helen Herendeen, former Bristol historian:
"About a hundred years after Sullivan’s march, some young lads in Bristol
had the idea from their reading of history that Sullivan’s army had buried
some treasure along their line of march across my grandfather’s farm, so they
came and asked him if they might dig for the treasure. He gave them permission
on condition that they shovel back all the dirt into the holes when they were
through digging. This they promised to do.
"They spent much time that summer hopefully digging for treasure, but they
finally tired of this unrewarding occupation and abandoned their efforts. When
it came time for fall plowing, Grandfather had to mount his saddle horse and
make a number of house calls to remind the young men to return and keep their
part of the bargain by shoveling back the dirt."
"It is said that there are cannon buried up on West Hill across the flats
from my farm, upon the Gregg farm or in that vicinity, on Elm Tree Road."
"The horses were becoming exhausted hauling these heavy cannon up the steep
hills, over the rough terrain, so they decided to bury the cannon before they
had to bury the horses. I believe that someone is now trying to locate a cannon
with a metal detector. If they should locate one, we would indeed have a memento
of the American Revolution."
One of the soldiers who received a land grant for service in the
Revolutionary War was William Gooding, who with two younger brothers, James and
Elnathan, walked to Bristol from Dighton, Massachusetts, in the spring of 1788.
They drove before them a flock of sheep, a herd of young cattle, and a cow for
milk. Their claim established on Lot No. 1, in the northeast section of the
town, the brothers cleared a few acres of ground, sowed wheat and planted
turnips. They built a crude log cabin for themselves, and a shelter for their
livestock, and cut and stored hay to feed the animals during the winter, leaving
seventeen year old Elnathan to care for the animals. Elnathan was the first
white man to winter in Bristol.
"This story was told by Elnathan’s great, great grandmother, Ada Fisher
Bliss: "One evening, not long after his brothers had left him alone,
Elnathan was cooking his supper outside over a campfire, when the long shadow of
a tall Indian fell across the fire. Elnathan did not panic, but ladled out a
bowl of his stew and handed it back over his shoulder to the Indian, who
happened to be a hungry young man. This act was the beginning of a long
friendship between the two young men. Someone gave the Indian the name of Jack
"Ada said it was not unusual to come into the kitchen in the early morning
and find a number of Indians sleeping on the floor around the fireplace."
The Goodings and the Fishers always made them welcome.
William and James Gooding returned with their families in the early spring of
1789, and soon built a larger, more substantial cabin and a blacksmith shop.
William was kept busy shoeing oxen and horses, and repairing and making tools
for other pioneers and his anvil was kept in steady use as the settlement
continued to grow.
Deacon George Codding and his son, George, traveled over the Susquehanna route
from Dighton to Bristol in 1788 – 1789. His sons, John, Faunce, Burt and
William soon followed him. The Coddings had drawn Lot No. 3 in the lottery in
The Town of Bristol was formed by the Court of Sessions, January 27, 1789.
Many of the first settlers were from Dighton, Bristol County, Massachusetts, and
they named their town for that county.
The first meeting to organize the town was held April 4, 1797, Gamaliel
Wilder and George Codding presided. The following officers were elected:
Supervisor, William Gooding; Town Clerk, John Codding; Assessors, Faunce Codding,
Nathan Allen, and Nathaniel Fisher; Commissioners of Highways, James Gooding,
Jabez Hicks, and Moses Porter; Constables, Amos Barber, Nathan Allen, and Alden
Sears, Jr.; Overseers of the poor, George Codding, Jr., and Stephen Sisson;
Overseers of Highways (or Pathmasters) Eleazer Hills, Peter Ganyard, Theophilus
Allen, Elnathan Gooding, John Simmons, and Amos Barber; School Commissioners,
Aaron Rice, Ephraim Wilder, and Nathaniel Fisher; Collectors, Amos Barber and
Bristol in 1789 included South Bristol, which was detached and organized March
1838. The present town, No. 9 in the 4th range, was purchased for the Dighton
Company, at fifty cents an acre, by Rev. John Smith and Calvin Jacobs, in whose
names the title was vested. The town was first surveyed and laid out in tiers of
lots, north and south, beginning at the northeast corner and numbering from one
to 60. Each lot was intended to contain 400 acres, and to be 108 rods wide, but
the survey gives a variance of from 100 to 112 rods.
Other early settlers were:
Andrews, Samuel --
1791, Lot No. 40. His father, Ebenezer of Dighton, Massachusetts. During the
Revolution, Ebenezer was a sergeant under Captain Peter Pitts in Col. Timothy
Walker’s Regiment. In 1795, he and his family moved to Bristol. He died here
in 1808. Benjamin brother of Samuel, moved from Lot 40 to Farmington, Michigan,
about 1828, with his family.
Barber, Captain Amos --
After 1796, Lot No. 51
Briggs, Zenas --
An early settler near the Bristol Center cemetery. His oldest son was a
well-known tavern keeper west of Canandaigua.
Bowen, Jeremiah --
1800, Lot No. 45.
Case, James --
About 1800, Lot No. 34. He had a large family
Case, Jonathan Joy --
About 1802, Lot No. 34. Brother of James. Had a large family. His family history
is detailed in The Case Family genealogy.
Codding, George, Jr.--
Lot No. 3—Became a wealthy and prominent citizen. His will provided support
for churches, school and the town.
Codding, Faunce --
Lot 5—A nail maker in Dighton, he continued his trade in Bristol and made the
nails for his barn, the first structure of its kind in Bristol. He died in 1810,
age 40; his widow and part of his family moved to Lockport, Illinois.
Codding, Burt --
1791, Lot No. 7—Moved to Ohio. Property later owned by Levi W. Totman.
Codding, John --
1791, Lot 3. Large family—moved to Ohio, Medina and Summit counties, after
Crandall, John --
About 1802. Tavern keeper; ran a four horse stage.
Crosby, Samuel --
Crow, John --
1794, Lot 15
Cudworth, Nathaniel --
1798, Lot 39
Fisher, Nathan --
About 1795, settled at Fisher’s corners.
Francis, William --
Came in the winter of 1800 by ox-sled with his family and household goods.
Goodale, Solomon --
Born in Brookfield, Massachusetts in 1767. He first settled in Phelps in 1795.
An experienced surveyor, and first resident minister in Phelps, he preached in
school and private homes. First Town Clerk in Phelps. He came to Bristol in
1802; minister of First Baptist Church. His records listed 450 marriages, and
1,000 baptisms. We do not know what happened to his records. He died November 7,
1862, age 96.
Gooding, James --
1789, Lot No. 4. A farmer and "somewhat of a tailor" brother of
Elnathan and William.
Gooding, Job --
1794, Earliest settler on Lot 39. Said to have been a sea captain, who settled
in Bristol so his sons would not go to sea.
Gooding, Thomas --
From Massachusetts in 1802.
Gooding, Zephaniah --
1798, Lot 41—Brother of William, James and Elnathan.
Hicks, Aaron --
Hill, Eleazer --
1794, Lot 13. When war was declared against Great Britain in 1812, he organized
an independent company for volunteer service.
Hills, Hezekiah --
1797, Lot 6. A farmer, he came from Dighton to Bristol by ox team.
Jackson, Azer & Elias-
Brothers. They settled about 1803 on Lots 44 and 45.
Johnson, Larnard --
Blacksmith, Bristol Center.
Jones, Asa --
1802, Lot 47. At his death, he was buried on the farm.
Jones, Seth --
1802, Lot 38. Tavern keeper, Baptist Hill. In War of 1812.
Jones, Sylvanus --
1802, Lot 44. He was a major in the military service, and exercised some
influence in town affairs. At his death, his land was sold and his descendants
Kent, John --
1797, Lot 38. Came to Bristol from New Jersey in 1795 on horseback. A shoemaker.
He cleared his land by hammering sole leather and driving pegs for George
Codding, paying for two days chopping on his clearing with one day’s work at
Low, Anthony --
Donated land, one and one-half acres, for the First Congregational Church,
Bristol Center. Moved to Granger, Medina County, Ohio.
Mallory, Samuel --
1795, Lot 14. The Mallory family history dates back to the tenth century. In
1754, four brothers came to the United States and their descendants have
scattered over the U.S. He was a school commissioner, and a prominent citizen in
1796-7, Lot 5. The town line was the property line. His name has been spelled
Marcius and Marcus, but all legal documents relating to him use the spelling
Marshes. His children became the pioneers of Wisconsin.
Mason, Isaac --
He had a tannery south of Bristol Center: a business begun at Muttonville, where
he dressed the sheep pelts.
Mason, John --
1801; Lot 44
McCrumb, George --
From Dighton, bought property 1789.
Miner, Enoch --
Wagon shop, "Mayweed."
Mitchell, Oliver --
Phillips, John --
About 1800, Lot 41.
Phillips, Luther --
1803, Lot 38. First shoemaker on Baptist Hill. His descendants went west.
Reed, George --
ca. 1805, Lot 52.
Reed, Joshua --
1798, Lot 39. Shoemaker.
Sears, Captain Alden --
1792, Lot 36. Revolutionary War solider.
Short, Theophilus --
1796, Lot 11. Built a log house and started a brickyard in 1801. In 1804, he
moved to Manchester, purchased 500 acres of land at $5.00 an acre. The village
of Shortsville is named for him.
Simmons, Benjamin --
Lot 47. His brother, Constant, lived near him on same lot.
Simmons, Constant --
Lot 46. His son, Henry, later owned the land.
Simmons, Constant --
1797, Lot 49. He erected a log house, at that time, the finest in town. He ran a
tavern in his home for several years.
Simmons, David --
1798, Lot 42. Brothers, Ephraim, Simeon, Benjamin, Richmond and Constant all
settled in Bristol at the same time, and were reputable, industrious and
prosperous citizens. David died during the epidemic of 1813.
Simmons, John --
From Dighton, Massachusetts—1792, Lot 38.
Simmons, Philip --
1805, Lot 50. Trader and farmer. He and his family moved to Michigan.
Simmons, Seth --
Lot No. 1. A carpenter: Built his house about 1798.
Sisson, Stephen --
1793. Had a store and Inn at Muttonville. It was the first frame building in
Smith, Daniel --
ca. 1800. Lot 43.
Spencer, Abijah --
1789, Lot 6. His brother, Aaron, settled in Burbee Hollow in 1790; sold his
South Bristol property in 1795 and moved to Canandaigua, New York. Abijah sold
to Dr. Thomas Vincent.
Taylor, Daniel --
1804, Lot 4. A cattle dealer, he took his drove to Philadelphia. He was reported
to have had a large and profitable business.
Taylor, John --
1797, Lot 13.
Torrence, Samuel --
Came from Connecticut about 1800. Lot 36. His son, Sheldon, moved to Livingston
Trafton, John --
Came from Dighton in 1797, age 17. He worked for his brother-in-law, Daniel Burt
and for Burt Codding until he paid for his farm on Lot 15.
Vincent, Dr. Thomas --
A native of Rhode Island, he moved to Geneva in 1795; and came to Bristol in
1797, where he bought part of Lot No. 6. The land was partially cleared and
contained a log house built by Abijah Spencer. Dr. Vincent was Bristol’s first
physician. The Hamlet of Muttonville was renamed Vincent in his honor.
Walker, Eliakim --
A backwoodsman, and early settler on Lot 42. He had a log cabin and a small
vegetable garden. When deer became scarce and shy, he moved to Michigan.
Walker, Tisdel --
1802, Lot 42. He died young, leaving a small family.
A cabinet maker north of Bristol Center.
Warren, Abijah --
ca. 1805, Lot 15. His son, Abijah, was the first to conduct a tanning business
in town. The tannery was west of the Congregational Church; discontinued at that
location, and the business relocated at Muttonville.
Wheeler, Aaron --
1798, Lot 36. A son moved to Michigan.
Whitmarsh, John --
1791, Lot 7.
Whitmarsh, Rufus --
1806, Lot 17. Rufus was a carpenter, and built most of the earliest frame houses
in Bristol. His old farm was later the property of N.W. Randall; the main part
of Randall’s house was built by Rufus in 1819.
Wilder, Ephraim --
1793, Lot 14, where he built a small log cabin, stayed one summer, then settled
on Lot 10 in Bristol Center. He put up a log house, and later a frame house,
subsequently occupied by James McKinney. Ephraim had a distillery and tavern for
several years. Ephraim was a brother of Gamaliel Wilder of South Bristol.
Descendants in this area include Tiffany, Hatch, Gilbert, Codding, Gooding and
Wolcott, E. --
Operator of a distillery on Mud Creek, Bristol Center.
The first meetings were held in the North Meeting House and School House,
North Parish, which may have been the first log building to house the
Congregational Church: from 1809 till 1837, at various houses, and Inns, and for
nineteen years at the Congregational Church.
At a special meeting, at the North Meeting House, North Parish.
April 28, 1797:
Proceeded to choose Gideon Ferre inspector of Lumber.
Voted that all fence viewers be allowed $1.00 per diem.
Voted that all fences 4 – ½ feet shall be considered lawful.
Voted to put a bounty of one penny each on squirrels and woodpeckers. Ears of
squirrels and heads of woodpeckers.
As for the squirrels, McIntosh relates in the "History of Ontario
County" – "The red and grey squirrels were rare, but the black
squirrel was so numerous in 1800 that, on one occasion, two bands of five young
men each, set out in contrary directions, to return at an appointed hour to a
feast to be provided by the party bringing in the least squirrels. Three hundred
squirrels were killed, all black except for one grey one. In 1818, these
squirrels were so abundant that in a cornfield eighteen or twenty were seen on a
Voted that the Highway Commissioners direct the Pathmasters to dig up the
Canada Burdocks in their districts.
Voted a 2¢ bounty on squirrels.
Mcintosh says, "It is unfortunate that the Canada thistle has effected a
lodgment on the farms of the county."
And tells how they got here: "In 1815, a Mr. Wood went to Albany with a
load of produce; he there fed his horses hay from the wagon box. On his return
home, the hay was thrown out, and up sprang the thistles, which have defied
every effort at their extirpation and proved a pest to the harvester and
Voted to pay School Commissioners and School Inspectors.
To raise $200 for the poor.
Voted that no rams were to run at large from September 1, to November 15.
Voted to buy a book for the Town Records.
Voted to raise $100 for the poor. To pay School Commissioners and Inspectors
75¢ per diem.
Voted a penalty of $5.00 for rams at large.
Voted to divide the town into highway districts.
Voted to pay the collector 3% for collection.
Meeting at the Town Clerk’s office to divide the town into assessing
Pathmasters were elected for each road district and were responsible for the
maintenance of the roads in their district. Each was given a list, made up by
the commissioners, of those assessed to work on the roads:
Every male inhabitant over 21, residing in the district (excepting ministers of
the gospel, and priests of every denomination, paupers, and idiots and
Every person owning or occupying land in the district, whether resident or
non-resident, male or female.
All corporations owning land in the district.
The number of days’ work required was determined by the amount of real or
personal property of the assessed. Work for one district varied from one to
At least 24 hours’ notice was given to all persons assessed to work on the
highways in their district, advising them of the time and place to appear with
the necessary implements required for the job. They were permitted to work eight
hours a day between 7:00 A.M. and 6:00 P.M.
All noxious weeds, briars and brush on the highway adjoining any uncultivated or
uninclosed lands in the district to be cut down, once between June 15th and July
1st; and between August 15th and September 1st.
Any loose stones on the beaten track of every road to be removed once in every
month from April 1st to December 1st.
Assessed labor was expected to remove snow within 24 hours of being notified.
The amount of work required was in proportion to the original assessment. All
persons called out and failing to appear at the designated place, or to commute
at $1.00 per day, within 24 hours after due notice, were liable to a fine of
$1.50 a day for each day’s labor required. The fines, collected by the
pathmaster by suit in justice’s court, were used to have the snow removed.
Monuments erected as boundaries of highways "to be kept up and renewed so
that the extent of such roads may be publicly known:" Any guideposts,
erected by the commissioners within the limits of the district were to be kept
in repair at the expense of the town.
The number of pathmasters in office each year varied from six in 1797 to
fifty-two in 1836. The number dropped to thirty-three in 1838, when South
Bristol became a separate township.
It was not lawful for cattle, horses, sheep, swine, or goats to run at large,
nor to be herded, nor pastured in any public street, park, place, or highway in
this State. They were seized and kept until disposed of according to law. Any
person responsible for the stray animals was fined $5.00 for every horse, swine,
or head of cattle; $1.00 for each sheep or goat found.
In Bristol Center, Horace and Allen Hooker ran the pioneer store in the ballroom
of Timothy Wilder’s hotel. Mr. Bradbury was a subsequent storekeeper in the
same place. The Hooker’s success warranted the erection of a large house on
the corner, also used as a store. George Gooding succeeded the Hookers and
transformed the store into a tavern.
Cyrus Wheeler and a Mr. Williams were distillers. Mr. Pool was a resident in the
In the hamlet of "Mayweed," which was located near the present trailer
park on Route 20A, John Sears and Benjamin Waldron were early tavern keepers,
one on each side of the road. Ward Parks had a store in an early day, and a
store continued there for 25 years. David Niles was the owner and operator of a
forge, and his shop was well patronized. Enoch Miner ran a wagon shop and was
kept busy for years.
The first store at Baptist Hill was kept by Mr. Hunt in 1810. His stock was kept
in a small farm building, just west of the store run by S.H. Wheeler during the
Civil War, and later by William Doyle. Joel Park had a store in the same
building as Mr. Hunt, as did Dr. Jacob Gillette, who sold goods and practiced
medicine. Dr. Gillette erected the first brick building in town. It was later
destroyed by fire. Aaron Van Orman was the pioneer blacksmith, with a shop north
of the old Baptist Church. A tavern kept by Luther Phillips was one of the
firsts in the hamlet.
Muttonville was a small hamlet on Route 64 South and Vincent Hill Road. It has
been called the nation’s greatest abattoir, where the number of sheep
slaughtered has been reported at 30,000 a year, in the mid 1800’s.
As early as 1797, when the first records were kept, there were 21 registered
earmarks in the town. By 1850, when Bristol reached its height in population,
there were 210 flocks identified by earmarks. In addition to the local sheep led
to the slaughter pens, flocks were driven to the pound from miles around, and
from as far away as Ohio.
Asahel Gooding was the leader in this enterprise and for years conducted an
extensive business, selling the hindquarters of the animal for meat; the pelts
for coats, gloves and shoes—both were transported by wagon to Rochester, New
York. A thousand candles a day were made in the tallow chandlery and were sold
as far away as New England.
Asahel erected a beautiful gothic house in Muttonville, which was the home of
Katharine Sisson (Case) Fales’ family from 1872 until 1965, when the house
burned Katharine and her husband, Ernest Fales, had a new house built on the old
foundation; they later moved to Canandaigua.
Eleanor A. Hicks recorded in her diary on April 22, 1893 that there was a big
fire in Muttonville. Orestes Case lost his horse barn, two horses, a cow and a
pig. Also involved were a very old hotel, which was empty, and a small store
owned by Eugene Rood.
The Four Corners with the store owned by William Doyle. The Bristol Post
Office is the small building directly behind the store. Grange Hall building to
The Post Office with Willie Kennedy, Chauncey Ingraham, Tom Wells, Irv
Johnson, Harold Sleight, Post Mistress Clara Gilbert, Theo. Sleight, and Emery
Wells standing in front of it.
The Bristol Fair Association was organized in January 1851, with a membership
of 128. The first officers were: President, Francis Mason; vice presidents,
Elijah Jones and Norman Hills; recording secretary, Norman W. Randall;
corresponding secretary, Myron O. Wilder; treasurer, Arunah Jones.
Besides the annual Fair, the Association was somewhat on the order of the
Grange, with a literary character. The members met at a different school each
time. A paper on some farm topic, prepared by one of the members, would be read
and this was followed by a general discussion on the subject.
The first Fair was held in Bristol Center, September 16, 1852. During the
Civil War Years of 1862–1864, it was discontinued; when it resumed in 1866, it
became a two-day fair. For a time in the 1870’s, the exhibition was extended
to three days.
The Ontario County Fair in Bristol: In 1937, Mrs. O.P. Letchworth, owner of
about 300 acres of property in Bristol offered to build a half mile track and a
grandstand if the Ontario County Fair Association would purchase 30 acres of
land for about $500 and shift the Fair to Bristol. The offer was accepted and
the Fair remained in Bristol until 1948. Attendance at the 1947 Fair was 12,770.
Although the 1948 Fair was considered the most successful post-war Fair, the
directors decided to move the location to a more centralized place in the
Mrs. Fales said the first emancipation of women in Bristol came when a
creamery was built in Bristol Center. Among the men who financed the business
were: Dr. B. T. McDowell, Fred E. Tones, Garrett Wheaton, Willis Seamans, and
Nick Case. The creamery was reached by a winding road around the base of the
hill back of the Bristol Center store.
Few farmers kept more than two or three cows, enough to supply their own
needs, and perhaps have a few pounds of butter to sell at the country stores.
Some housewives had regular customers in Canandaigua and the Bloomfields. It was
a weekly task to churn cream into butter and one less chore when the cream was
sold to the creamery. Twice a week, varied sizes of cans of cream were picked up
at the roadside by a man in a small wagon drawn by a team of horses.
The creamery was not equipped to process large quantities of butter, and was
a short-lived enterprise. After it closed, farmers took their cream to Honeoye
Mrs. Fales reminisced: "There were six stores that I can remember. Two
at Baptist Hill, one at Vincent, two at Bristol Center, and one farther south,
about three miles. They all sold the same type of merchandise—some carrying
more of one thing than another did. One store at Bristol Center sold percales,
unbleached muslin, outing flannel, gingham, and spools of thread."
The store in Vincent carried only groceries and kerosene. "I remember
the gas stove around which the men gathered, sitting on benches, which in summer
were removed to the front porch; the open cracker barrel, where everyone helped
himself. Candy was behind a glass case—stick candy, licorice ropes, round hard
peppermints—and gum, about the size and shape of a pencil, which was mostly
wax with a sweet coating. I also remember being allowed to take and egg to buy a
stick of candy, but never could understand why at one time an egg bought two
sticks, and another time only one."
Mrs. Fales also remembers: "In the store at Vincent was the first
telephone system in our town. Mrs. Eugene Rood, the wife of the storeowner,
operated the switchboard. Just how far the lines extended, I do not know. There
was a telephone in our house, and there were telephones in Mayweed. There were
sixteen on our line—including Dr. McDowell, at Bristol Center, and our store.
Of course, everyone listened in!"
Superviors - Town of Bristol
1797 – William Gooding
1884 – Leonard H. Jones
1803 – James Gooding
1885 – William H. Doyle
1808 – Eleazer Hills
1888 – Youngs William Smith
1812 – William T. Codding
1889 – Mark A. Case
1815 – Richard Simmons
1892 – Mark A. Francis
1816 – George Codding
1894 – Herbert L. Case
1817 – Richard Simmons
1896 – Harlan M. Fisher
1819 – George Codding
1898 – Charles Richmond Simmons
1820 – James Gooding
1901 – Samuel Moranda
1821 – Joseph Wilder
1903 – Garret F. Wheaton
1824 – William T. Codding
1905 – Elias J. Gooding
1827 – Warren Brown
1909 – William M. Simmons
1828 – Jonathan J. Case
1911 – Seymour W. Case
1833 – Allen Brown
1915 – Frank Ferrin
1835 – Francis Mason
1917 – John B. Gregg
1836 – Benjamin F. Wilcox
1923 – Harry R. Marble
1838 – Francis Mason
1925 – Barton T. McDowell, M.D.
1842 – Aaron Hicks
1929 – Harry R. Marble
1843 – Lemuel Hicks
1933 – Anson G. Rogers
1844 – John Mason
1945 – James G. Reed
1845 – Elnathan W. Simmons
1949 – Marion Gladding
1846 – John Mason
1959 – Kenneth Whitcomb
1847 – George Gooding
1965 – Wilfred Ward
1848 – John Mason
1971 – Wilbur J. Wilson
1852 – Oliver Case
1975 – George Ward
1852 – John Mason
1977 – Robert Walrath
1854 – Francis Mason
1979 – Robert A. Green
1858 – Arunah Jones
1985 – Raymond Barend
1859 – Stephen A. Codding
1863 – William G. Packard
1865 – Richmond Simmons
1867 – Sylvester H. Wheeler
1871 – William A. Reed
1876 – Leonard H. Jones
1882 – Lewis J. Reed
1883 – Elkanah Andrews
Election Time in Bristol
‘Twas the night before election
And all through the hills,
The people were nervous
Some even had chills.
Automobiles were speeding
All over the town,
Which had made for itself
‘Twas the day of election
And all through these hills
The names of the candidates
Echoed with thrills.
Clohecy was busy
Trying to stop
Those Marbles from rolling
Right over the top.
Buckelew was a running
As fast as he could,
But he couldn’t quite catch
Charley Jones as he should.
Then Higley appeared
On the scene quite amused
For he thought he was elected,
But instead was confused.
There’s another Jones family
This town represents,
A man and woman
Who kindly consent
To run for the office
Of Bristol Town Clerk.
He for the office
And she for the work.
‘Tis the day after elections
When all through these hills,
Not a person was stirring
They were doping their chills.
For the battle is won
With all good intentions;
But some would be glad
Of just "Honorable Mention."
- John Gregg
Mr. Gregg was born and lived most of his life on the road in town that bears
his family name. He was a farmer but had an obvious ability for poetry.
Farm Related Industries of Bristol
Some of the first settlers brought with them carefully chosen rams and ewes
from which their large herds of sheep originated. As early as 1797 records show
21 registered earmarks in town. The little group of houses on and around the
corners of what is now Route 64 and Vincent Hill Road was the center of the
Sheep Industry. No wonder it was called Muttonville!
To prepare the sheep for slaughter the sheep were driven to the hamlet and
into a large pond in order to wash the wool. Wool was the foremost resource from
the sheep for clothing, blankets and pelts. The pond was so deep the sheep had
to swim to get out.
The men who killed the sheep were paid by the head. The hindquarters were
dressed out for meat. The remaining parts were placed in large vats, where the
fat was melted and skimmed off for the tallow to make candles.
The Candle Molds were on a device much like large wheels with many spokes.
Hot tallow was poured into the molds fastened on these spokes. When the molds
were filled, the wheels were turned to go outside the building, where the cold
air hardened the candles. They were then boxed and shipped all over, even as far
as New England.
The town checked this enterprise by mandating fences for holding pounds and
appointed fence viewers to make sure all was in order. Town ordinance read,
"The rams shall not run at large from the middle of August to the middle of
November under penalty of $5.00 fine to the owner." In 1850, there were 210
flocks of sheep.
It would appear that after the passing of this industry in Bristol the
residents of the area were somewhat pleased as they changed the name of the
hamlet to Vincent in honor of the first Doctor in Bristol. Also, to the west the
hamlet of Mayweed was named for a daisy-like flower, which grew in profusion at
that location. (Elm Tree Road and Route 20A.) These names certainly gave the
area a more peaceful description.
Hop vines were rooted in Bristol about 1835 from seedlings brought from
England. Hops were a vine planted in hills, once set out they lived for years.
They were in rows about six feet apart. The hills were spaced six feet apart
also. It was then possible to cultivate between the rows and to accommodate the
bins used for picking which were passed down the rows. The bins were of wooden
frames with three large divisions called pockets made up of burlap. Hops were
picked in late August or early September. This brought many workers from as far
away as Rochester and Buffalo. The picking refers to pulling off the lovely
green hops from the vine. (The pickers were paid by the bushel.) The hops were
taken to the dry house. The Kilns on which the hops were dried were made of
wooden slats over which kiln cloth was placed. After the hops were placed on the
kiln, they were dried by means of large furnaces, where sulfur, know as
brimstone, was used for firing. After drying the hops were baled in burlap for
Hop season meant a lot of work for everyone. At night the farmers held dances
at various farms to entertain the pickers who came from around the area. This
was a more fun type of industry. After blight and prohibition, the industry
declined as other markets had opened in the west with more modern methods to
make production more economical.
Large spreading apple trees were abundant on most farms, especially on the
Valley Road. In order to preserve the apples, evaporators were set up. The
owners of the evaporators would contract with the local farmers. When the apples
were brought in they were weighed and emptied into a sorting bin. The inferior
apples were chopped and dried and sold for use as pectin.
The good apples were pared by machine dropped onto a belt to the trimmer and
then the slicer. They were then bleached and moved on to the kiln. After drying
they were stored, being frequently turned by shovels. When they were ready for
market, they were shipped in burlap bags. After canning factories became common,
this procedure was no longer used.
The black raspberry market in Bristol used the drying procedure for
preservation. That also passed, as it was possible to truck the fresh berries to
the Rochester Public Market in about an hour.
Hop pickers resting on the edge of a bind during harvest on Seamons farm
(County Road 32 near Bristol Center). Poll puller on left – Merton Packard.
Pickers – Rita Simmons Hopkins, Edna Haskins, Mary Hunn Moranda, Howard
Pierce, in front. (He was later killed in France during World War 1).
Hop bin mentioned in previous article with pickers seated on edge. Vines
hanging on poles background. Circa: 1905-1910
The blacksmith shops turned to garages as the automobile came to town. Many
such shops were in town with gas stations at each one. The distilleries and most
of the grocery stores are gone, as are the gas stations.
The beauty of the hills once again encompasses the valley.
An old view of Bristol Center, taken nearly at the top of the hill, going
west from the Center on County Road 32.
Bristol to Ohio - 1817
In October 1817, James Ganyard, Elizur Hills, Anthony Lower, and Burt Codding,
four Bristol, New York farmers went to Ohio, in a carriage drawn by two horses,
to inspect the lands of Township 3, Range 13, in the Western Reserve. They
remained for several days, and being well satisfied with the richness of the
land and its adaptability for farming purposes, they returned to their homes in
Bristol. They purchased from Gideon Granger, the proprietor, three-fourths of
the township, at $4.00 an acre. They sold their farms in Ontario County to Mr.
Granger in part payment, and together gave a mortgage bond amounting to over
$14,000 on the new lands in Ohio.
After the agreement had been made, and before the written contract was
signed, James Ganyard transferred his right of proprietorship to John Codding,
reserving for himself only as much land as he had paid for.
Soon after they had taken possession of the Granger lands, and had commenced
making improvements, Congress placed large areas of Government lands, in the
counties south of the Reserve, on the market, at less than half the price paid
by the Granger settlers. As a result, when the mortgages became due, the owners
were unable to pay them and their lands and possessions reverted to the former
In early February 1818, the first train of emigrants started in ox sleds from
Ontario County, New York. The party consisted of Elizur L. Hills, with his
sisters, Abigail and Marilla; Elizur Wolcott; John Codding and wife, and one
child; Festus and James Ganyard; Seth Dye and wife; Richard Paull and wife; and
Seth Paull, with his family of two children. They arrived on the new lands in
the middle of March.
The following fall, another party, consisting of Elizur Hills and wife, with
seven children; Anthony Low and family; and Burt Codding, joined their friends
and children who had preceded them.
All these families settled close together in the vicinity of what is now
known as Coddingville. Nathan Hatch came with his family of five children, on
October 24, 1818. In February 1819, Benjamin Burt and his mother settled with
their sons and brothers, John and Daniel, who had preceded them the previous
fall. At the same time came Belia Spencer, with his family; the widow Amanda
Isbell, with her child; and James and Amos Isbell, two single young men; James
Ganyard, with his wife and two children, two of this sons had already located
here the year before, and Mrs. John McCloud, who lived with the Ganyard family,
and Hoel Hatch, whose parents had arrived the previous year.
The political organization of the township, later called Granger, took place
in February 1820, and the first election for civil officers occurred at the
house of Seth Paull, on the first Monday in April. Board of Trustees 19
and 1820. This is known as Reed’s Schoolhouse. John Codding taught a school at
Copley’s corners, for several years in the early days of the colony. John Burt
taught at Grangerburg in 1820 and 1821.
Others born in Bristol, who emigrated to Ohio: Samuel H. Pomeroy, born March
15, 1810 in Bristol, Ontario County, New York, son of Samuel and Penelope
(Allen) Pomeroy. Simpson Simmons, born Bristol, October 10, 1805, son of
Jonathan and Ruth (Gooding) Simmons. Benjamin Burt, born February 14, 1804. He
was only 15 years old when the family went to Ohio. He started a day or so
before the family, with the cows; he arrived the day before the family at their
new house, having walked almost the entire distance. George Codding, born
Bristol, March 31, 1800; moved to Granger in 1821. John Codding, born in Bristol
May 2, 1797; moved to Granger in 1818. John N. Ganyard; Seymour A. Ganyard; Hoel
Hatch; Franklin Sylvester, were a few of the many that moved west during
that period. There were many that migrated to Illinois and Michigan as well.
The First Congregational Church
Bristol has been called the town of many churches. From the time of
settlement, there had been seven church organizations in the town.
The oldest of these—one of the oldest in the county—was the First
Congregational Church of Bristol, which was organized in June 1799 by the Rev.
Zadoc Hunn and Rev. Seth Williston, a missionary; although Congregational
services were held in the town as early as 1793.
The meeting house was a long structure, constructed of unhewn timbers, and
was equipped with a desk and seats of a rude description. It stood on the East
Side of Route 64 nearly opposite Route 20A.
The first members were: Isaac Hunn, George and Sarah Codding, Ephraim and
Lydia Wilder, Nathaniel and Hannah Fisher, Chauncey and Polly Allen, Marcius and
Amerillus Marsh, William and Lydia Gooding, Samuel and Phebe Mallory,
Selah Pitts, Mr. Foster, James Gooding, Alden Sears, and Thomas Vincent.
In 1810, a new meeting house was planned. Proceeds from the permanent sale of
pews, to finance the new building amounted to $6,874. Pews below the gallery
brought in $5,875, seats in the gallery, $999.
Anthony Low donated one and one-half acres of land for the new building,
which was completed in 1812, and dedicated in 1814. According to Arch Merrill
(the Rochester Newspaperman and author) there are 711 panes of glass in the many
long windows of the church, located near the corner of Lee Road and Route 64.
In 1823, the Church was in the care of the Ontario Presbytery; they withdrew
in 1844 and joined the Ontario Association of Congregational Churches. It never
relinquished its right of Congregational rule during the period of Presbyterial
Strict obedience of church rules and standards was expected, and punishments
for infractions ranged from a stern rebuke to the complete disgrace of
excommunication. Trials were held in the church meeting room, and a careful
record was kept of all the church proceedings.
It has been said that revivals added extensively to the church membership,
while wholesome discipline considerably reduced it.
The first Sunday school of the Congregational Church was organized in 1814,
shortly after the dedication of the Church building. This was five years before
the first Sunday school library book was published in this country.
In 1832, the building was "refitted"; again in 1846, it was
thoroughly repaired. In 1875, it was altered and redecorated: In 1890, the high,
colonial-type pulpit was removed and a desk installed; the gallery was removed
and the church again redecorated.
The Church building was used for Town meetings and elections in 1818, 1862,
and from 1873 until 1902.
In 1907, a floor was put in at a balcony level, making the church into a
two-story building, with the sanctuary on the second floor, and dining room,
recreation room, cloakroom, and kitchen downstairs; new carpets were added and
the building was painted.
For years, antique collectors coveted the huge chandelier, a gift of the East
Bloomfield Congregational Church when that congregation installed gas lights.
Originally, it was a circle of twelve kerosene-burning lamps with delicately
etched chimneys, suspended from large arms. In the old days, it hung low so the
sexton could reach the lamps for refilling and trimming the wicks. When
electricity came to the Valley, the chandelier was raised and wired.
In 1925, Mr. Issac Newton of Cleveland, formerly of Bristol left a $150,000
endowment fund, the interest of which to be used by the former Universalist,
Congregational and Methodist churches, now known as the Bristol United Church.
Also in 1925, a new roof and an entrance and portico to the kitchen were
added. The church building was completely renovated and redecorated.
The ten-room parsonage, built in the mid-1800’s was repapered and
redecorated several times. In 1923, a pipeless natural gas furnace was
installed, and a galvanized cistern replaced the old wooden one. In 1925, it was
completely repaired and redecorated, and a "splendid" porch was added.
Damaged by a fire in February 1982, the building was razed and a new house built
on the site. The parsonage was damaged by fire at an earlier date, in the spring
of 1933; it was then repaired and repapered.
Sheds on the church property erected in 1907 for the protection of the horses
in bad weather were removed in the winter of 1932.
In June 1949, a new roof was put on the church building at a cost of $603.
The chimney on the north side was removed.
In the 1950’s, the three churches of Bristol, the Community Church at
Baptist Hill, the Congregational Church in Bristol Valley on Route 64, and the
Methodist Church in Bristol Center found they were unable to pay adequate
ministerial salaries and maintain church properties, so a joining of the
congregations was considered.
It was decided by the three church boards to present this idea to the
membership of each church, with the stipulation that it had to be passed by 85%
of each church’s membership. When this was voted upon, the Congregational and
Methodist Churches voted for such a merger, but the Community did not.
Pastors, Rev. Edwin Tilt of the Methodist Church and Rev. A. Claire Potter of
the Congregational Church, very good friends, understood the need for
consolidation and continued to support the idea of federating. This was legally
accomplished in 1947. Both Pastors resigned thinking it better for all if a new
pastor entered the picture to work equally with both groups. The joined churches
became The Bristol Valley Federated Church with governing made up from members
of both churches, now one church. Ernest Fales was elected President of the new
board. Affiliations with both Methodist and Congregational denominations were
Because of the different sizes of the church buildings, the winter services
were held in the smaller, more easily heated Methodist Church; the summer
service sand social gatherings in the Congregational Church.
The Sunday school was in charge of Katharine Fales and James Reed, Jr. who
worked together. It was an active group. Many of those young people can be found
in our community and other places where they are making useful contributions
The social life of the church was carried on by a joint Women’s Society.
They put on many money raising activities. The Annual Fall Roast Beef Dinner
attracted people, "from near and far."
Another social group, "The Family Circle" met for a potluck supper,
the first Monday of every month. Mrs. Walter Case headed this activity until she
moved away. Then Mrs. Anson Rogers took over. If one had not been at church the
previous Sunday, one could expect a call from "Lucy: reminding them of the
super and Family Circle meeting. It was a fun night with games, cards and
occasionally a speaker.
The successful Federation continued. After several years of discussion, the
Bristol Community Church decided by vote of the membership that they would like
to join. By vote of the Federated Church, this was approved. December 1975, the
group voted to join the United Church of Christ, the local group to be known as
the Bristol United Church.
Because of the size of the church and the fact that the parsonage at Baptist
Hill had been recently renovated, it was decided to use the facilities at the
"Hill." It was agreed to sell the other church properties. The
Methodist Church building was sold to the Bristol Historical Society for $500.00
with the understanding that it would not be used for religious purposes. If not
used by the Historical Society, it would revert to the Church. The former
Congregational Church properties were sold as well.
No records of the Congregational Church would be complete without the mention
of "Gabriel." The sheet-iron weather vane, believed to date back to
1814, may have been made by a local blacksmith. "Gabriel" served
faithfully atop the tall, white church steeple for many years, pointing out the
direction of the prevailing winds, and as a welcoming committee of one to the
Deserving a rest after so many years of faithful service, and the indignities
of rifle bullets and bird droppings, "Gabriel" now reposes in the
University of Rochester Memorial Art Gallery. The arrangements for this move
were due largely to the efforts of Katharine Case Fales.
The First Congregational Church Route 64, Bristol Center. Circa: 1950’s
The First Baptist Church
The Baptists perfected their organization in 1799. In 1803, the first Baptist
Church of Bristol and Bloomfield was organized, and a log church was built one
mile north of the section of Bristol referred to as Baptist Hill.
On February 7, 1805, the First Baptist Church of Bristol was organized, with
34 members: Elder Solomon Goodale; Jabez and Elizabeth Hicks; Asher and Esther
Coburn; John and Mary Gregg; James and Betsey Case; Jonathan Phillips; Simeon,
Gamaliel, Lydia, Matilda, and Abigail Simmons; Aaron and Otis Hicks; Lydia
Bowen; Betsey Boyd; John, Betsey, and Sallie Chapman; Lucy and Jonathan Colburn;
Sally, William, Jr., and Rebecca Francis; Irena Dunmore; Hannah, Luther, and
Priscilla Phillips; Luscomb and Polly Codding; Samuel and Esther Gorse; Delano
Sears; Deborah Briggs; Polly McCrumb; Lovina Reed; May Kimble; Sally Bodden; and
Phoebe and Margaret Crandall. Reverend Solomon Goodale became their pastor and
held regular and stated meetings in different convenient locations.
This organization built a log church near the site later occupied by the
Universalist Church. About 1807, the Bloomfield church was abandoned and its
members joined the Bristol Church. The reunited society moved their log church
across the road, to the northeast corner of Baptist Hill. In 1812, they erected
a frame building on the site. Workmen began dismantling the interior of the
building in December 1910; and the last remnants were removed in December 1911.
Early church letters are interesting. Most are simple transfers from one
Baptist Church to another; the earliest transfer was from Rehoboth,
Massachusetts, in May 1800.
A second Baptist Church of Bristol was organized in 1821, from the first,
with Elder Eli Haskell and 24 members. So many moved west that the remainder
joined with the fourth Baptist Church.
Nathaniel Cudworth, Luther Phillips, Seth Jones, and Joshua Reed gave
the property, containing four acres, and fourteen rods of land, to the Baptist
Society. "In order to accommodate said Society and the public with a plot
of ground for the convenience of their meeting house and burying ground. All the
parcels of land are bounded on the corner between the east and west halves of
lots number 38 and 39 in Bristol, including the highways which cross each other
at right angles at the above-mentioned corner."
The Indenture conveying this land to the Trustees of the Baptist Society in
Bloomfield and Bristol—Baylies Phillips, Jabez Hicks to Lyon Simmons and
Seth Hathaway, Esq., -- was dated May 26, 1812
The Baptist Church of Bristol, New York. Circa: 1910-1911.
The building was located on the northeast corner of County Road 2 and
Oakmount Road. Even though the structure is gone, Bristol has been continually
called "Baptist Hill."
The First Methodist Church
Excerpts from a paper written by Elizabeth Case Morse for the centennial
celebration of the church – December 1946.
The First Methodist Church of Bristol dates its organization from 1845, and
the building of its church from 1846.
Methodist preaching began in 1800 when William Case obtained a license from
the Methodist Episcopal Church to preach, and a permit to be a missionary among
the Indians of Western New York. He was the pioneer of the denomination in the
A class of eleven or twelve members was formed in 1806, including James and
Betsey Case; James, Bathsheba, and Miss McCartney; Mr. Johnson; William Boughton,
and others. James Case was class leader the first year.
Meetings were held in the schoolhouse in Mayweed, or at the home of James
Case. By 1815, most of the original members had died or moved away, and a new
class was formed in connection with the church in Richmond. George Reed, Jr. was
Charter members—in 1825, Amos Benjamin and his wife Hannah Maygett
Benjamin, Julia, Harriet, and Mervin Benjamin, brought their letters of transfer
from the Methodist Society of Amenia, Duchess County, New York, to help form the
Society here, but as nothing was done about forming a society until 1845, all
but Julia, who had married Alanson Reed, had moved to Illinois, and though here
named as members were never active here. The other members were Hiram and Irene
Clark Parsons; Ward and Irene Joyner Totman; Oliver and Nancy Reed Tiffany;
Oliver and Judith Ann Gifford Case; and Nancy Reed Goff, and probably
George Gooding, Ephraim Gooding and Abner Reed.
July 1, 1846, George Gooding and his wife Achsah, of the Town of Bristol,
Ontario County, New York, conveyed to the trustees of the First Methodist
Episcopal Church and Society of Bristol. Ephraim Gooding, George Gooding, Abner
Reed, Alanson Reed, and Ward Totman, and their successors in Office forever, a
tract of land supposed to be one-quarter acre. At that time, bounded on the
north by the public burying ground, on the west by George Goodings land, on the
south by a lot deeded by Gooding to James Wilder, and on the west by the
highway. The sum paid by the trustees for this land was $50.
On the back of the document was the following statement:
On the fourth day of September 1846, before me the Subscriber, a Justice of
the Peace, in aforesaid county, came George Gooding and Achsah, his wife, whom I
know to be the persons described in, and who executed the same. And the said
Achsah on a private examination apart from her husband acknowledged that she
executed the same freely and without fear or compulsion of the husband.
"On October 12, 1863, Ward Totman and his wife Irene, decided the land
on which the parsonage is located to Ward Totman, Edwin Gooding, and Augustus
Reed for $350. Whether this also included a house or not, I don’t know, but it
seems to me it must have. In later years the parsonage, at that time in bad
repair, was built over virtually as it is today."
"On June 16, 1869, Augustus Reed and Edwin Gooding, as trustees of the
church leased the plot of ground across from Horatio Sisson for $25. This was
for the erection of church sheds and was for a term of 99 years, and was to
revert to the original form when the sheds were no longer used. With the advent
of the automobile, the sheds were no longer needed and were torn down".
"Whether or not there was a basement under the church when it was built
is a point I’ve not been able to prove. My mother has told me this incident
which happened either at the time it was excavated, or perhaps remodeled; Two
members, I believe it was James Reed and Byron Tiffany, disagreed violently on
the construction of the walls, one wanted wood and the other, cement. Saying
that wood would rot out—no agreement could be reached, so a compromise was
made. Each man should build a sidewall to please himself. The north wall built
of cement endured, while the south wall of wood, with a wooden window ledge, had
to be replaced with cement several years ago."
"There have been many changes in these one hundred years, some large,
some small. One of the outstanding and enduring beauties was the stained glass
memorial window set under the pastorship of Rev. Walter W. Dailey in 1906-1907.
There was the installation of gas to replace the oil lamps, and only a few years
ago, they were superceded by electricity. The old stoves gave way to a gas
furnace. The choir, down out of the gallery to our "amen" corner, and
slowly the other "Amen" corner has gone. The organ gave way to the
"The social rooms have seen many changes. I imagine the first major one
was the installation of the inside stairway to the ground floor. Previously, the
only way to get there from upstairs was by going around the outside—not too
pleasant in winter. The kitchen was remodeled. The benches along the sides of
the tables were replaced with nicer, more modern ones."
"In 1934, the old steeple had to come down and a smaller one was erected
in its place to hold the bell, which for 100 years has called our parents,
grandparents, and even great grandparents to worship; and in earlier times
tolled for the death of its members in the same clear tone that today called us
to this meeting to commemorate with it the 100th Anniversary of the First
Society of the Methodist Episcopal Church at Bristol Center."
"In the 1940’s, it became evident that Bristol Valley could not longer
support the churches and a movement was made to unite the three churches. The
Church of Bristol (Baptist Hill) opted not to join but the two Valley Churches
formed a Federation—each keeping their own denomination. The Methodist
Parsonage was sold and the money invested. In the winter, the smaller, more
easily heated Methodist "Upper Church" was used and in the summer,
services were held in the "Lower Church."
"Due to several unfortunate circumstances and population changes all
three churches united and went to he Baptist Hill Church under the denomination
of United Church of Christ Congregational."
"The Historical Society of Bristol after several attempts bought the
Methodist Church building for it’s permanent home. It was in bad repair and
slowly necessary repairs were made. The sanctuary is as it always has been and
is available for special services-weddings, baptisms, and funerals, but not the
regular services. The basement will hold the artifacts of the History of
"The bell is still in the steeple and on special occasions is rung. It’s
clear tones alerting the residents to happenings as those in year’s
The First Universalist Church
(BRISTOL UNITED CHURCH)
Universalist teaching and preaching in the Town began in 1816. The first
meetings and the one for organization probably were held in dwellings or in
nearby groves. In the winter of 1828, meetings were held in the schoolhouse at
Baptist Hill, and in the summer, in a grove. The date of formal organization is
not on record, but the first official report of the First Universalist Society
is given as May 1, 1833.
The first building occupied by the Society, erected in 1836, was constructed
of cobblestones; the lower floor used as a school and the second floor was used
for religious services—it could seat 200.
In the year 1856, the legality of the title to the church property was
questioned. The appointed investigative committee reported as follows: "We,
your committee, report that they searched the records of the office of the clerk
of Ontario County without success; but found in Arunah Jones’ keeping, a deed
executed by the trustees of the first Baptist Society of Bristol to Seth Jones
of the same place, quitting their claim to all the ground or land lying north of
the burying ground, and a similar deed from Seth Jones and wife to many
individuals; with the understanding that it shall be used for a meeting house
and schoolhouse, and such other buildings as may be needed for the same and for
Interesting to note that all of the school meetings, from the date of this
report to the deeding of the property to the Universalist Society, there was a
resolution passed that no singing school shall be held in the building during
The money for the stone church and schoolhouse was raised largely by
subscription; and the deed given to Joshua Phillips, Lyman Hawes, and seven
At the annual meeting of the Universalist Society on November 26, 1860,
Billings Case and A. C. Hathaway were appointed as a special committee to
solicit funds for building a new church. Also, W. Scott Hicks and Peleg F. Hicks
were appointed to confer with School District No. 1 to determine what they would
charge to release their claim to the site now occupied by the schoolhouse.
At the January 12, 1861 meeting, the building fund committee reported that it
had secured subscriptions amounting to $2,700. The school committee reported
that the district had unanimously agreed to sell their right to the schoolhouse
for $100. At this time, it was unanimously decided to build a church and David
A. Pierpont, Ezekiel Cudworth, and Peleg F. Hicks were chosen as a committee
with full authority to prepare a draft of a church building, to be presented at
the next meeting.
January 19, 1861, a building committee was chosen with authority to let the
contract for the building of the church. One year later, January 4, 1862, at the
annual meeting of the Society it was reported that the church was completed and
On February 21, 1872, a committee was appointed to build a parsonage near the
church. It was completed in 1872, and destroyed by fire in 1960.
The Sunday school was started in 1862.
The church bell was purchased July 29, 1861. Bought by the pound—1,017
pounds at 28 cents a pound—with a mounting cost of $40. The total cost was
Members recorded at a February 2, 1861 meeting: Rev. L. P. and Lida Blackmore;
Aaron F., Eunice, and A. Carlisle Orcutt; Elkanah and Sarah S. Andrews; W. Scott
and Eleanor A. Hicks; A. C., H. A. and Mary Hathaway; Almeda Park; Mrs. May E.
Thomas; Ellen M., Samuel B., and Roxanna Dorrence; Robert B. Simmons; Peleg F.
Hicks; Maria L. Francis; M. E. Paull; E. M. and George Baily; S. A. Jones; Eliza
Phillips; Zadia Case; Prudence Adams; and Lovice Fletcher. By 1876, one hundred
families were represented in the parish. The Sunday school had 100 members and
was kept up throughout the year.
At the turn of the century, the dinners at the Universalist Church were even
then a tradition. It was a two day affair with usually chicken pie served the
first day and oyster stew on the menu the second day. At the time of World War
1, the dinners were cut to one. Somewhere along the line it was changed to a
turkey supper and later to a smorgasbord. Before the social hall was added to
the church, the dinners were served in the Fireman’s Hall or EKOR Hall, as it
was previously known. (Empire Knights of Relief) Only one year was omitted from
this one hundred-year-old tradition. The women baked turkeys in their homes at
the time of the turkey suppers. It was a real community effort and many
neighbors participated, who didn’t even belong to that church.
In the earliest days, hitch barns stood on the East Side of the church where
the kitchen now stands.
In 1913, the Universalist Church Fair was held in the EKOR Hall with
orchestra, violin solos and a comic farce "Jumbo Jim" starring Harold
Wheeler, Frank Gilbert, Harold Ferrin, Mrs. John Gilbert and Mrs. Leslie
Rev. George Campbell was pastor from 1924 to 1931 and Rev. Harry M. Wright
from 1931 to 1946. Rev. Wright was made Pastor Emeritus in the 1950’s.
Rev. Robert T. Dick was chosen as pastor and served from 1947 to 1951. During
his pastorate, the Lord’s Acre Program, where area farmers let the church
members work land for the church was very effective. Five to ten acres were in
crops. In the fall, there was a church service in the fields to celebrate the
In 1948 when the Universalist Church sanctuary was remodeled, Fred Ward built
and electrified the cross at the front. Frank Gilbert built the atlet, memorial
cabinet and two built-in stands at the back of the church. Fred Ward did the
lettering on the front of the altar.
The Methodist and Congregational Churches federated in 1947, but at that
time, the Church on the "Hill" chose not to join.
On March 16, 1950, the Universalist women voted to contribute $50 to the
electric organ fund. This is a memorial to Miss Agnes Hathaway and other
deceased members. Miss Hathaway went as a missionary from the church to Japan,
where she served many years. She always remembered the church of her girlhood.
It was through her generosity the church interior was redecorated in 1949.
Installed in 1950, a new Hammond spinet organ, replacing the old pump organ,
which had been in the church for 60 years. On Easter Sunday 1951, the
Universalist Society dedicated the new organ and a plaque.
On May 5, 1960, a fire destroyed the church parsonage as well as another home
and threatened the church and a damaged two additional homes. The parsonage had
been rented to a family since the church had no resident minister at the time.
The Red Cross opened relief headquarters in the Firemen’s Hall and was
assisted by the Fire Department Auxiliary, Knick Knack Klub, and the women from
In 1961, the First Universalist Church changed its name to Bristol Community
In 1962, Mrs. Marble sold her house to the church for $7,000; a much lower
price than she could have gotten elsewhere. It was purchased to use as a
parsonage. Also in 1962, the sanctuary was again remodeled and redecorated.
During the 60’s, the Women’s Society was divided into two groups; a day
group and an evening group called the Hathaway and the Ruth Circles.
On October 24, 1967, in the minutes of the Board meeting of the Bristol
Valley Federated Church mention is made of exploring the possibility of getting
together with the Bristol Community Church. Again in June 1968, September 1968,
and November 1968, combined Boards discussed the problems and possibilities.
On February 16, 1969, a meeting was held to approve the tentative
constitution for uniting the churches and opening bank accounts, retroactive to
January 1, 1969. However, it wasn’t until December 7, 1975 at a special
meeting that the final proposal to merge and consolidate into a single
corporation to be known as "The United Church of Bristol" was finally
held and voted on. Problems with legal requirements could finally be solved and
while there were a few court problems still to be taken care of, the three
churches were now permitted to act as one.
From the first, the new church retained successful programs of each of the
individual denominations. The Family Circle continues, as did the church
suppers. "Gabriel’s Horn" may have disappeared in name, but the
"Bristoletter" carried on the newsletter tradition. Rummage sales,
holiday baskets for the needy, ditty bags for the boys overseas continued as
well as special inner city groups rolling bandages and of course, the Memorial
Boswell Insse, a Civil War Veteran, between 95 and 100 years ago, initiated
the project of Memorial Day Services. Children of the Bristol Rural School
District #1 assisted him. Later it became associated with the children of the
Universalist Church and also some of the other children of the area. Mrs. John
Gregg succeeded him for many years, followed by Mrs. Harry Marble, Mrs. George
Durkee, Mrs. Walter Jones and now Mrs. Dorothy Erb. Others assisting have been
Ralph Pestle and Mrs. Andrew Rogers.
On January 19, 1970, Levi Corser reported at a Board meeting that the
Methodist Church was about to be transferred to the Bristol Historical Society.
However, it was September 20, 1978 when Attorney William Scott wrote a letter to
Mrs. Katharine Fales, Moderator of the Church, enclosing a deed for the sale of
the Methodist Church to the Historical Society.
On October 18, 1973, the Andrews house was sold to Mr. Franz Mittermayer.
When the church bought the Andrew’s house (the home on the north side of the
road across from the present parking lot of the church) in the 1960’s for
approximately $6,000, it was used as Sunday school and meeting rooms.
At the August 13, 1975 Board meeting, it was announced that the Valley Church
steeple had been struck by lightening. It was voted at this meting to offer the
Valley Church to the Town of Bristol for use as a public building for the sum of
$1.00. No mention is made of action the Town might have taken.
In September, it was announced that Mr. Klugg and a representative of Mr.
Ardell would come out and remove the weathervane, "Gabriel," and the
steeple for transfer to the Rochester Memorial Art Gallery and they would close
over the building to keep out he weather. The amount of $1,700 was received for
On December 22, 1975 a contract was signed with Frank J. Marianacci Inc. for
building an addition to the church including a kitchen, social hall and
A special meeting on November 6, 1977 approved accepting an offer for the
property of the former Congregational Church of Bristol on Route 64 and Lee
During 1979, the church historical records had been microfilmed for a
collection at Ithaca College and would be placed in the Cornell University
In April 1981, final payment was given to Frank Marianacci for the contract
work performed. The West Side of the church was strengthened and new support
In November 1981, Nancy Woolston resigned as organist, and Mary Jane Baker
was hired to replace her.
In December 1981, United Church of Bristol road signs were placed at three
intersections—5 and 20 and Oakmount, Route 64 and County Road 2, and
Route 20A and County Road 2.
In the spring of 1984, the Shawn Fox Memorial Playground was purchased and
installed in memory of the son of Bernard and Joann Fox. This has been well used
by the children of the church as well as the neighborhood kids and reminds us
how fragile our children are.
In September, the Narthex was renovated and doors repaired. Also, the
Community Pantry was started at the church for the needy, a truly ecumenical
endeavor with the help from neighbors and other churches.
At a congregational meeting on July 14, 1985, it was decided to sell the
parsonage. In October, it was sold to Lanita Jermyn, a sister of Leona Case.
May 21, 1989 was the first day back into the completely redecorated sanctuary
with new chandeliers, newly decorated walls, ceiling, new carpets and soon to be
recovered cushions for the pews.
The Bristol Woman’s Club was instrumental in starting the Baptist Hill
Library; they began collecting books to be exchanged among their members. When
Rev. F. F. Buckner became pastor of the Universalist Church in 1899, he
encouraged the women to expand the private loan library.
A provisional charter was granted in May 1900. The Bristol Free Library was
opened to the public on April 23, 1901 and a permanent charter was granted in
At first, the library was contained in the homes of the librarians: Mrs.
Carrie Hicks Perry, Mrs. John Travis, Mrs. Albert Gilbert, and Mrs. Earl Marble.
When the number of books became too large to be kept in a home, Mrs. Harry
(Effie) Marble offered the upper floor of the Marble store to the Association.
Books were available on a self-service basis whenever the store was open, from
7:00 A.M. to 8:00 P.M. weekdays, and after church on Sundays.
Mrs. Marble not only served as librarian; she was storekeeper when her
Assemblyman husband was away from home. While juvenile deputy of Ontario County,
Pomona Grange, she organized nine juvenile Grange units. Mrs. Marble was active
in the women’s society of the Universalist Church; first chairman of the
Bristol Home Bureau; member of the Board of Trustees of the Bristol Free
Library, and treasurer of the Board for 27 years. As Town Historian, she founded
the Historical Society of Bristol, and her well-organized scrapbooks tell a
story of the town in the early 1900’s. Through her efforts, many artifacts
were collected as a beginning for a Historical Society museum. "Effie’s"
bimonthly "Family Life Letter" was sent out by the County Extension
Service to Home Bureau Club members, her charming style and home-spun philosophy
became so popular, it was more widely read than the current best sellers of the
time. She received fan mail—women loved her ideas. In addition to all her
activities, she raised her two motherless teenaged grandchildren, and her home
was often the gathering place for their friends. Her garden was a showplace of
the community every summer.
In 1949, the Marbles sold the store they had owned for 29 years, and the
library was moved to the Grange Hall. Some of the original books, carefully
cloth bound by the women of the community, were among those moved.
In 1953, the school on Oakmount Road was discontinued, its pupils scheduled
to attend East Bloomfield Central School. Through the efforts of Clinton T.
Sears, Honeoye School District Superintendent, the schoolhouse, play equipment,
and the school treasury were donated to the Bristol Free Library Association.
Volunteers insulated the walls of the building, built bookshelves, and painted.
Men, women, and children moved the books. The grounds were landscaped. And a
very attractive library was the result of their efforts.
Leighton Gilbert was president of the Board of Trustees for 25 years. The
names of LaVerne and Sylvia Brown, Elizabeth Jones, and Mrs. Billings Case were
found many times in the officer records. Mrs. Ola Fisher, succeeded by her
daughter, Jane, followed Mrs. Marble as librarians.
The Bristol Valley Library at Bristol Center had its beginning in 1913, when
Valley residents presented a home talent play, "Valley Farm" as a
fundraiser. February 1914 marked the formal organization.
Willis C. Seaman was the first president of the Board of Trustees; associated
with him were Mrs. Francis M. Pierce, Mrs. Garrett Wheaton, Mrs. Joel Totman and
Mrs. Bert Codding.
The library was first housed in Willis Seaman’s store where the books were
on revolving shelves. On election night, 1914, the store burned and the scant
supply of books were lost.
The library was re-established on the second floor of the old Timothy Wilder
hotel (4508 Route 64, South, currently owned by Louis M. Clark). There was a
barbershop and residence on the fist floor. Miss Florence Wheaton was the first
librarian: she was paid 25 cents a day, and worked two days a week.
From the hotel, the library was moved to the residence of Mr. and Mrs.
Preston Case, next door to the present building. Florence Wheaton (later
Mrs. Jones of Canandaigua), moved to Canandaigua, and Mrs. Case became the
The present charming little library doesn’t offer a clue to its former use
as a blacksmith shop. The trustees deliberated at length before they decided on
the move to the old shop. Preston Case wanted $175 for the building, which was a
substantial sum in 1919. Another $600 was needed to get the building ready to
house a library, and this was borrowed from Benjamin Case, a trustee.
For years, the building was propped up with old railroad ties, which caused
considerable discussion. Debts were paid off by a series of dances and suppers.
Everything was donated, and usually 25 cents was charged for supper and dance.
Not until the depression years of 1932 and 1933 were all the obligations met.
In 1929, the library received the collection of the Bristol Springs Library,
which closed that year.
In 1942, the U.S. Postal Service began to rent space in the library for $5.00
a month. The postmistress "kept an eye on the books" when the
librarian was not in attendance. The post office was removed in 1971, and it has
Credit for the success of the Valley Library must also be given to Earl
Fletcher, who served 40 years on the Board of Trustees; Mrs. Elizabeth Case
Morse, daughter of Benjamin Case; and librarians, Helen Case, Erma Johnson, Anna
Fletcher, Leta Hatch and Mrs. Herbert (Genevieve) Rogers, who earned 50 cents a
day, on Tuesday and Thursday afternoons.
Of course, many more names should be included in the credits for both
libraries; those mentioned were in the records available.
One Board of Trustees administers the present Bristol Library. Since that
time, many improvements have been made to the structure. The latest is the
acquisition of the neighboring property south for more parking and future
expansion as the need arises.
Historical Society of Bristol
The Historical Society of Bristol was surprised recently to find that it was
not the first such organization to be formed in the Town. A ledger was given to
the Society telling of the formation of the Historical Society of Bristol in
1883. It contained a list of members, by-laws, minutes, and their goals.
Their goal: "to secure from reliable sources the history of the Town of
Bristol from its first settlement onward." This is the same goal that the
present Society has set for its self.
The main difference being, the Society formed by our forefathers was because
they thought it the thing to do. The one formed in 1950 was motivated by the
State. It is unfortunate that the original Society lasted such a short time. The
present Society’s work would have been much easier.
Mrs. Harry (Effie) Marble, as Town Historian on August 31, 1950, organized
the Historical Society of Bristol at a meeting in her home.
Mrs. Marble as Town Historian had collected many historical papers, and a
need was felt for an organization to be responsible for their preservation.
Mrs. Marble was elected temporary chairman for the meeting, but declined the
office of president; she felt she could better serve the Society as historian.
Levi Corser was elected president; Theodore Weiderhold, vice president; Mrs.
Kenneth (Elizabeth) Morse, secretary; and Mrs. T. G. (Helen) Herendeen,
The Board of Directors: Roy Miller, Ernest Fales, Mrs. Alvin (Marge) Brough,
Robert Fordyce, Mrs. Kenneth (Adele) Gray, Mrs. Theodore (Louise) Weiderhold,
Mrs. Herendeen, Mrs. Levi (Eloise) Corser, and Mrs. Walter (Elizabeth) Jones.
The Society received a Charter granted by the State Education Department, on
September 25, 1953.
With the purchase of the Methodist Church building in Bristol Center, the
Society had a permanent home. There was much to be done and much more has to be
done to make the building what the Society wishes, in a section of the County so
rich in history.
There have been many fund-raising events----craft and bake sales, raffles and
donations. With the proceeds from these, a new roof was put on, new front steps
were built, the damaged plaster in the sanctuary was replaced and the building
painted inside and out. Recently the front doors have been replaced.
The Sanctuary has been retained in its original state and may be used for
weddings, christenings, funerals and so forth. The basement will display the
historical artifacts. The Society’s use of the building keeps a landmark in
use—a church that was built in 1846, on donated land by donated labor.
Bristol Valley Grange No. 1080
Bristol Valley Grange No. 1080 was organized December 29, 1906 at a meeting
in the Bristol Center Methodist Church with 33 Charter Members. By the first
meeting on January 12, 1907, there were 71 enrolled members. The first meetings
were held in the Methodist Church, but as membership grew, the group moved to
the old tavern for a few meetings, and then to the Bristol Center Improvement
Company (present Town Hall). In 1938, the Grange moved to Baptist Hill when the
Bristol Amusement Club presented their hall (the former E.K.O.R. hall and
skating rink) to the Grange, to be used as a permanent home. The consideration
was that the Grangers pay the transfer fee. After extensive alterations, the
dedication of this building was held on August 19, 1939.
To relieve parents’ worry over what to do with their children while they
were attending meetings, the Juvenile Grange was organized on September 21,
1932, under the direction of Mrs. Harry Marble. A special room for the juvenile
meetings was completed on the second floor of the hall in 1940.
November 5, 1957—The local subordinated Grange voted to disband by January
1. It was reported that the Bristol Volunteer Firemen were interested in taking
over the Grange Hall and furnishings. The final meeting of the Grange was
scheduled for December 14, with a supper at 7 P.M.
In 1958, the Bristol Volunteer Fire Department became the owner of the Grange
Hall building, using it for their money making and social functions.
In 1976, it was torn down and later replaced by the new Fire House (Station
No. 2) that was built to provide the Baptist Hill area with better fire
The Bristol Valley Grange No. 1081 Building on County Road 2 in Baptist Hill,
taken before the Firemen owned it in 1958.
The Harmony Circle of Bristol
On an early spring afternoon in 1921, a group of women met at the home of
Ella Case, to form a Women’s Club. This was in answer to the Men’s Club
formed previously by the Rev. Charles Paille of the Bristol Congregational
They felt that a "Club" was too severe, that "Circle" was
a more feminine term. As it was non-sectarian harmony was necessary, thus
Ella Case was chosen as head or "Mother", an office she held until
her death in 1942. Mary Burnett held the place until she moved from the
community. Then Lucy Rogers was "Mother" for several years,
followed by Anna Fletcher, a Charter member. At the present time, Erma Johnson
holds the position.
It soon, after formation, became necessary to confine the membership to 24,
as the meetings are held in members’ homes, the second and fourth Wednesday s
of each month.
From activities held mostly within the Circle, money has been raised for many
civic projects. During the Depression much charity work was carried out in the
community. Toys and gifts were wrapped for children at Christmas. Bonnets and
quilts were made for newborns. Food was collected and distributed. During war
times, World War II, the Korean War as well as Viet Nam, the women made kits,
wrote letters, and sent packages to the soldiers overseas.
For years the Circle has held auctions, bake sales, hometown plays and put on
Many Inter-Circle trips, picnics, contests and banquets have kept members
interested and in harmony. Mothers, daughters, and now granddaughters have
enjoyed membership over the years.
The Men’s Club of the Congregational Church is long gone but the Harmony
Circle has flourished for 68 years and hopefully will continue for many more.
Thus proving that indeed a "Circle" is better than a "Club"
The members have abided by their original Constitution with very few changes,
which reads as follows:
CONSTITUTION OF HARMONY CIRCLE
We, the undersigned, do hereby draft and approve this constitution and
by-laws of the Harmony Circle of Bristol.
The object of the organization is to promote better individual and community
social activities for people.
Any girl of 14 years of age or over may become a member upon the invitation
of the members of the Circle.
A regular business meeting shall be held quarterly to elect officers and any
other business that shall come before the meeting.
There shall be a president and three vice-presidents, a secretary and a
treasurer. The vice-presidents shall be chosen by the president, others elected
by the circle.
A Circle Mother in the person of Mother Ella Case is chosen to serve as
advisor for all time and is ex officio member of all committees.
Signed this third day of October Nineteen Hundred and Twenty One, Year of our
Florence E.W. Jones
Mary H. Hunn
Helen M. Lambert
Gladys A. Hunn
Lois E. Reed
Clara Reed Semans
Anna P. Fletcher
Mabel E. Reed
In 1971, Harmony Circle members celebrated their Golden Anniversary. Past
members and friends were invited to a banquet held at the old Congregational
Church. At that time, Anna Fletcher was our "Circle Mother" and
continued to be until her death in 1983.
It is our hope that this organization will continue its activities for many
years to come.
The watering tub in the middle of the intersection of what is now County Road
32 and Route 64 in Bristol Center.
Knick Knack Klub
In the 1940’s, Mrs. Billings (Elsie) Case moved to the Baptist Hill area.
Elsie had been a member of Harmony Circle in Bristol Center, when she had
During one of the annual Turkey Suppers in the Bristol Grange Hall on Baptist
Hall, Elsie talked with several women about starting a club.
The first meeting was held at the home of Mrs. Wilfred (Jean) Ward on Baptist
Hill. At that meeting, Elsie was asked to be "Mother’ of the club. The
members decided to bring knick-knacks to their meetings and it was from this
that the club derived its name.
There were 24 members at one time and each month one member would entertain.
The meetings were held on the last Tuesday of the month at member’s homes.
The members number 15 at this time and perform many charitable activities.
At Christmas time, the Klub gives gifts to shut-ins and many elderly
community members. They remember many with cards during times of need and times
In the fall of 1989, the Klub plans a large buffet dinner, to which, it is
hoped they can invited as many of their former members as they can reach, for an
evening of reminiscence.
The Bristol Volunteer Fire Department
The Bristol Volunteer Fire Department was founded in 1952. The earliest
recollection seems to be of a discussion held January 7, 1952, during a Men’s
Club meeting at the Congregational Church. It was then suggested that a fire
protection district be formed and various forms of fire warnings; such as
ringing church bells or horn blowing was suggested.
The thing that really motivated the formation of the Department was a
dreadful fire, earlier that year, that destroyed John Shenk’s garage on Route
64. The garage was located three buildings north of the then Methodist Church in
The East Bloomfield-Holcomb Fire Department held the contract for most of the
Town of Bristol and answered the call, and with the use of chemicals was able to
save an adjacent house. Water arrived by tanker from Canandaigua but was too
late to save the garage.
This created even more interest in fire protection. In a meeting at Church,
February 4, 1952, the "Bristol Bucket Brigade" was formed.
Officers were elected at that time:
Vice President:Kenneth Morse
Assistant Chief:John Shenk
Assistant Chief:James Thompson
Interest was so great that the first membership list shows 79 who paid to
become either an active fireman or honorary member. They adopted the name,
Bristol Valley Fire Department. Because interest spread throughout the town, the
name was quickly changed to Bristol Volunteer Fire Department. Dues were $5 a
year, as they remain today, and meetings were held at the Town Hall in Bristol
The organization was made much easier by the able assistance of Stuart
French, a long time member of the Richmond Fire Department in Honeoye. He was
Assistant Mutual Aid Fire Coordinator for Ontario County and most valuable
counselor during the early years.
Later in the spring of 1952, Mendon Fire Company gave the Department their
Peerless Squad Car. With the help of Bud Sauer of Mendon, a tank, pump, and hose
The first official fire call was at Mel Wheaton’s Double Diamond Ranch on
Route 64, south of Bristol Center. Twenty men responded and the damage was held
After a few more responses, it was felt justified to apply for a reduction of
insurance rates, through the National Board of Underwriter’s. A 20% reduction
was granted to all property owners with in a 3-mile radius of Burton Legg’s
barn, on property south of the Bristol General Store, where the fire truck was
Ernest Fales donated the lot next to the library in Bristol Center with a
99-year lease for a firehouse. Work was started on the building, which was
somewhat larger than a two-car garage.
On September 26, 1952, the first of many Field Days was held, with a net
profit of $557.
Another financial boost was $179.50 turned over to the department by 35 men
who had gone to the East Side of Honeoye Lake to fight a forest fire. They were
paid 50 cents an hour and turned it all over to the Bristol Valley Fire
In October 1952, the Charter for the company was received from New York
State. The first officers of the new corporation were the same as previously
The purchase of a 1929 Sanford Pumper for $500 from the Village of Fair
Haven, New York was in November 1952.
In June 1953, the members met with the Town Board to seek some of the $850 in
money paid to Canandaigua, East Bloomfield, and Richmond for fire protection.
They were granted $500 with the full amount paid the following year.
In the fall of 1954, another firehouse was started on land donated by
Clarence Bailey east of the Four Corners on Baptist Hill on County Road 2.
The first new fire truck was purchased in June 1957. It was a 500-gallon Ford
Pumper. It cost $7,800 of which $3,500 was borrowed from the Evergreen Cemetery
Association for 3½ years. It was custom equipped and put into service in
The year 1958 saw the purchase for $1.00 of the Bristol Grange Hall building
on County Road 2, south of the Four Corners in Baptist Hill. This building was
used for fund-raising activities and meetings until it was demolished in the
Many dinner dances, field days and carnivals followed along with other
money-making events to support the Fire Department.
In August 1973, the purchase of 14 acres of land on Route 64, north of
Bristol Center was made from Mr. and Mrs. Glen McPherson. This is the location
of the firehouse built there during 1974-1975.
Early in 1975 saw the formation of an Emergency Rescue Squad, with a nucleus
of 5 Emergency Medical Technicians, and many others with Advance First Aid.
There was an initial membership of 24 and they answered their first call on
February 1, 1975.
Since that time, they have become a full- fledged Ambulance Corp with the
membership updating their training constantly. The members of the squad respond
to more emergency situations every year, giving a much needed and appreciated
service to the Town of Bristol residents.
The 1980’s have brought more changes and improvements to the Fire
Department. A two-bay firehouse was built on the land where the Bristol Grange
Hall, later Fireman’s Hall once stood. The property where both original
firehouses stood in Bristol Center and Baptist Hill was sold. The fireman built
a large pond for fire protection and tanker drills on the Route 64 property.
Much of the fire fighting equipment was upgraded during the last 10 years as
In 1989, the equipment for fire protection in Bristol is very modern and is
providing exceptional coverage for the residents of the Town of Bristol.
Women's Auxiliary of the Fire Department
The original Bristol Volunteer Fire Department Auxiliary was formed at a
meeting held in the Town Hall, June 16, 1953, with 18 women in attendance. It
was called the Ladies Auxiliary of the Bristol Volunteer Fire Department.
The first officers elected were:
President:Mrs. Ted (Louise) Weiderhold
Vice-President:Mrs. Scott (Marge) DeLucia
Secretary:Mrs. Sidney (Vedah) Cooley
Treasurer:Mrs. Clarence (Jo) Granata
The first act after the establishment of a Constitution and by-laws was to
assist the firemen at their 2nd Annual Field Day.
During their first year, they reached a membership of over 50 and began
meeting in the new firehouse on Route 64.
After several years of active assistance to the firemen, the membership waned
and they disbanded in 1959.
At a meeting in the Firemen’s Hall at Baptist Hill on March 3, 1971, the
Auxiliary of the Fire Department was reorganized. The following officers were
President:Mrs. Russell (Mary) Gliewe
Vice-President:Mrs. Edward (Lucinda) Perrin
Secretary:Mrs. Gerald (Nancy) Langer
Treasurer:Mrs. William (Jean) Frost
There were 13 in attendance at that meeting and before the end of the year,
the membership had reached 35.
The new revised Constitution and by-laws were voted into effect June 2, 1971.
That fall saw the start of the annual Halloween party for the Bristol children
that was held in the Firemen’s Hall at Baptist Hill for many years. It is now
held in the new building on Route 64.
In 1973, the first of many catering jobs began. The Auxiliary was asked to
cater the Cheshire Firemen’s Banquet and did so for several years. For many
years, money was made at the Annual Firemen’s Carnival on the Firemen’s
grounds on Route 64, from the Cake Wheel that the Auxiliary had and in the fall
several days of Hunter’s Breakfasts were served. But the main source of income
has been the many wedding receptions and catered activities that the Auxiliary
has done throughout the years. The money earned has always been used to improve
the equipment in the firehouse and to purchase specialized items needed by the
Fire Company from time to time because the whole purpose of the Auxiliary is to
support and assist the firemen in times of need.
Aerial view of "Baptist Hill" looking west toward the Four Corners
and the Church.
The First Memorial Day Celebration of Bristol
Bristol Center---on that first Memorial Day, there were 13 little girls
dressed in white.
A few years earlier they had sung, "When Johnny Comes Marching Home
Again." By May 30, 1869, Johnny had marched home and the little girls were
marching in pairs to decorate the graves of his fallen comrades.
They were marching on the lawn of the Bristol Valley Congregational Church.
Twelve carried flowers, and the 13th a flag.
From the church lawn, where they heard speakers, including Spencer Gooding, a
Canandaigua attorney, they were taken to a waiting coach, bound for the Bristol
Center Cemetery and the soldiers’ graves.
Mrs. Albert Johnson, the only surviving member of the group, recalled that
the coach was drawn by four horses whose bridles were decorated with small
flags. The horses had larger flags draped across their backs, and the coach bore
an even larger banner.
Thomas Murray, a Civil War veteran, supervised the girls. He picked 13 girls,
Mrs. Johnson remembered, to represent each of the 13 United States. At the
cemetery, Walter Hicks of Vincent (then called Muttonville) a hamlet in the Town
of Bristol, gave a brief biographical sketch of each veteran in whose honor the
day was observed.
Later, the girls placed their flowers and Murray the flags, at each soldier’s
That was the first Memorial Day in Bristol, 1869.
Naomi Johnson, who was born in the Town of Bristol, October 21, 1859,
the daughter of Martin and Nancy Reed Goff related this story. She lived in
Bristol all of her life. She attended rural schools and the Teacher’s Training
Class at Canandaigua Academy, taught three years at Bristol and Boswell’s
Corner, and was married to Albert Johnson in 1879. They built a home on West
Hill and lived there until he died in 1943.
Mrs. Johnson was an honorary member of the Bristol Historical Society and the
Bristol Valley Grange. She was a life member of the Methodist Church. The
Johnson’s had a son and a daughter, Mrs. Nina Tones, with whom she later
lived. Mrs. Johnson died in 1955 at the age of 96 and is buried in Evergreen
Cemetery at Baptist Hill.
The custom of decorating the graves of the soldiers in Bristol continues
today with flags placed every Memorial Day.
Horses and buggy going up the bill from Bristol Center, toward Canandaigua.
Reminiscence of Polly Mason Morse
"My father, John Mason, was one of the first settlers of Bristol. He sat
down on his farm in the year 1800, built a house of logs and therein put his
little family. In 1803, Polly Mason, the one who writes this, first saw the
light from that log house. I was rocked in one half of a hollow log, with head
and footboards to keep the pillows and baby in order, and there I slept and
dreamed my baby dreams, and was as happy as if my cradle had been made of
rosewood, while the long-drawn howl of the wolf was heard as he sought his prey.
I was like all the daughters of Eve; full of mischief, playing with rag babies,
making mud pies, and many other pranks that a child is heir to, but my mother
was a practical woman, and when my eldest sister was ten years of age, and I was
nearly eight, she introduced us to the spinning wheel. We had our stints, my
sister’s was ten knots for a day; my own was seven, as I was not quite eight
Before I was fourteen, I was put on the loom to make cloth for the family, in
which I became adept, and now I must blow my own bugle. I don’t know of one
now living but myself who can relate the fact. The month was October, my work
weaving, I started the shuttle as the sun came up, working steadily on all day,
and when the sun went down out of sight, I had woven fifteen yards, set down
every yard as I wove it.
I well remember the War of 1812-13. Our second neighbor on one side was a
captain in the militia. One morning as the day was coming; he rode to the door
in hot haste, and told my father to get his French gun and cartridge box ready
and to go to West Bloomfield. He said the British and Indians had landed at
Buffalo, and would be in Canandaigua before night. The two political parties at
that time were Democrats and Federals. The Federals, some of them, laid the war
at the door of the Democrats. All the men liable to do military duty were gone
to Bloomfield, and we women and children were waiting for the Indians to come
and take our scalp locks.
They and the British burned Buffalo, then little more than a hamlet, but did
not get to Canandaigua, and on the 10th of September, the Tars and Marines on
Lake Erie were seen to make the proud flag of great Britain come down."
A story told by the descendants of John Mason, the pioneer; their first home
was crude log cabin. One afternoon, while John was away, his wife and baby were
alone and she was seated next to the cradle where her child was sleeping. She as
terrified when the blanket, which served as a door, was pushed aside and two
large Indians walked in. They made it known they wanted her to come outside;
there, they soon made it known that they wanted an axe. She hesitated because
her husband’s axe was new, and she was not sure it would be returned. The
Indians went into the house and laid their guns on the bed, to let her know they
only wanted to borrow the implement. She assented, and soon heard them chopping
a tree a short distance away. Sometime later, they appeared with their prize, a
large fat coon. They handed her the axe, retrieved their guns, and left as
silently as they had appeared.
About the time of the first town meeting in 1797, sawmills were in operation,
and the settlers had begun to discard their log houses for larger and more
comfortable frame dwellings. Some simply enlarged their homes by frame additions
to the original log house.
The New Electric Road
We ain’t a-plowin much this spring,
We’re just a-sittin round.
We ain’t a-lottin much on crop
That grow up out the ground,
We won’t have time to harvest ‘em
When they come to be growed.
We’re waitin for the whistle
Of the new electric road.
When Doc rides up the valley
Behind his tandem team,
He lights another two-fer and
Has a pleasant dream
Of sittin in his office without
A trouble nigh,
A-smokin a ten-center and the
Cars a-whizzin by.
When all of us good Grangers
In secret session meet,
Instid of teachin of us how
To raise more corn or wheat,
Or whether mules or horses
Can draw the biggest load,
We jut listen for the
Whistle of the new electric road.
The minister as Dailey he
Lets his prayers arise,
Keeps one eye good and pious
A-gazin at the skies,
But the other is a-watchin
For somethin better far,
It’s lookin for the comin
Of the first electric car.
Walt is goin to quit runnin
A common country store.
He’ll have a grand emporium
With a glass front in the door.
Elli’ll have a hotel and
Nick’ll tend the bar,
When he ain’t out a-watchin
For the comin of the car.
Tones, and Gregg, and Holcomb have
Come down off the hills,
And Fletcher, and McGory, and
Hewitt, Day, and Mills,
They’ll sell their farms and
Furniture; throw in the stock to boot.
They’re comin to the valley
To hear the whistle toot.
Cole and Ketchum are going to
Shut up the blacksmith shop,
And Lake will let his peggin
Awl, and last, and hammer drop
Though all the horses
Go unshod, and all the harness broke.
They’re listnin for the
Whistle, and watchin for the smoke.
Mud Creek is full of suckers,
And there’s lots that are not in it;
I mean the kind they say are born
At least one every minute,
But the easiest of any is the
Railroad crazy bloke
Who’ll deed a way across
His farm to smell a little smoke.
We all are just a-wondering
What’ll make the wheels go ‘round
And if they sell lectricity
By the pint or by the pound
But—twould break us
Up entirely if now the thing should fizzle.
So we’ll watch out for the
Smoke and listen for the whistle.
-- Sanford Hall
1877 – 1936
"Sanny R" as he was locally know, was born in Canada but lived the
majority of his life in Bristol, with his bachelor uncles and maiden aunts. He
was trained as a barber and cut many heads of hair in his time, never having a
shop. He took a great interest in local activities and often expressed his sense
of humor in poetry.
What necessitated the writing of this poem it lost to history, but it is
believed that there were rumors of an electric trolley or railway being built
down through Bristol Valley.
Bristol (Baptist Hill)
Universalist Church and Parsonage (which burned) looking toward the east from
the Four Corners.
Looking south from the Four Corners (County Road 2) note the board fence
along the cemetery.
Baptist Hill School
On cold days, the children huddled around the stove, which provided heat from
coal and wood, until natural gas was available. For many years, two gas heaters
have been sufficient. Gaslights were installed many years ago, through funds
made possible by the many plays and entertainment given by the pupils. More
recently these have been replaced by electricity. Improvements during the many
years have made this a modern country school.
Prior to the present school site, school had been held in the basement of a
cobblestone church, which stood very near the present Universalist Church.
(United Church of Bristol) Services of this faith were held in the upper part.
On June 25, 1836, the district voted to pay the Universalist Church $100 for
the south room in the basement for school purposes. Grandchildren of some of the
pupils are now living in the district.
Records do not show where school was held before this time. The community was
settled in 1797, forming a hamlet in about 1810. Records dating back to 1819
show that school opened on November 20 and was in session four months, closing
for the older boys to help with the farm work.
The expenses of those days were in sharp contrast to today’s exorbitant
school budget. Parents were assessed one-half cord of two-foot wood per pupil.
The qualifications of teachers were limited, not requiring even a high school
At a meeting held in 1821, it was voted to hold school for ten months. The
winter term began November 1, and the summer term the first of May. They also
voted that if a child broke a light or glass, he or his parents shall pay for it
within one day after notification, or pay one shilling.
At a special meeting held in 1834, it was voted that the schoolhouse be open
for public worship when not needed for school, but not for singing school.
Baptist Hill School in 1840
(Copied from an old, handwritten paper, author and date unknown.)
The schoolrooms were in the basement of the Universalist Church, very
pleasant rooms and commodious, with four large double windows, so plenty of
light and room.
The few that are living called us class 1850 when it really was six or seven
years preceding in the early forties, that I remember an illumination of the
church, cobblestone church with cathedral windows. It was a beautiful sight. It
must have been in 1840, the last I remember of church.
Now, will see how we can explain those wonderful rooms (and they surely were)
where from 30 to 50 wild boys and girls worked to get a little knowledge, and
they did. Had good teachers, good discipline, with so many to look after. The
seats were long benches, with desks in front, with an aisle coming through the
center from the south, with step down to each floor until you reached the center
of the room the lowest "where children could sit with feet on floor."
On north side two long rows of seats with an aisle in center, with desks in
front. We used Sanders’ series of books, called then, good. The Speller, which
was studied from first to last, with not much passed by. The school was noted
for the good spellers. A class of fifteen or twenty standing on a mark, striving
to outdo each other, especially when we had (spelling bees) "especially
when we had company which we had often." The parents came often, that
encouraged and inspired teacher and scholars, as it should. Every student will
do better if the parent is there to see him or her. Then we had public days when
we would spell down, have a paper, recitation, etc. Then we had great
mathematicians, we had schools from around would bring problems, examples, and
would have very exciting times, it was very much enjoyed by all.
The north room had tables and seats around, used for anything useful, a
painting class, drawing and writing. Many of the boys and girls have gone from
this school well equipped to take their life work and succeeded, making the most
useful, intelligent, manly men that the world needs.
Recollections of Dr. MacDowell
If you saw White Owl cigar stumps on the porch railing of a house in Bristol,
in the early part of the 20th century, Dr. MacDowell had been there recently—probably
professionally. He had very little time for socialization, though he loved his
patients and covered Bristol, South Bristol and the Academy on Route 21.
In the winter, he usually was "snowed in" away from home once or
twice. He had a team of horses with a driver and he wore a fur coat, which made
him resemble a very large bear.
Later he got a Ford car. Dr. was a physician not a mechanic, and when he
started on a call every one within earshot knew it. The car roared, plunged out
of the garage into the road and he was off.
His relaxation was the General Store and he learned more about his patients
there than in his office! He charged 25 cents for a call within a mile radius of
Bristol Center and 50 cents for the next mile, etc. A handful of pills was 25
cents to 50 cents and he always filled the envelope BEFORE he wrote the
instruction. As his writing was not readable in the first place, patients always
asked for oral instructions. If perchance, the pills came out of his pocket
instead of the black medicine bag—some mothers were known to wash them and dry
the pills in the oven before giving them to their children.
He was school doctor for the 12 school districts in the town. The
examinations were at best simple, since he had been attending physician at most
of their births and illnesses.
Once when Doc. decided to take a vacation, the people were horrified. He went
for a week to the Adirondack Mountains. Everyone expected to die in his absence
but no one did and after that he regularly took time off.
He never had regular calling hours but came as soon as he could.
If it was a toothache, then he sat the patient in a chair---used forceps and
extracted the tooth---remarking afterward that it was "not painless
As the world changed and Doc. became older, he had time to become Town
Supervisor and later County School Physician with an office in Canandaigua.
Dr. MacDowell was raised by his grandmother in Walworth, New York. Following
his medical education, he moved to Canandaigua and started his practice in
Bristol from a room on the upper floor of what had once been a tavern. He drove
out from Canandaigua by horse and buggy until his marriage to a local girl.
Dr. Barton T. MacDowell was a big boned, good natured, mild mannered, red
head who served as the last of the rural doctors in Bristol. Dr. Thomas Vincent
was the very first doctor, followed by Dr. Durgan, Dr. Mallory, and Dr. Hicks.
There are many people on this earth today that owe their first slap and breath
of life to Dr. Barton T. MacDowell.
By Kenneth Morse
Ice harvest began on Mud Creek as soon as the ice was thick enough to be cut.
Several days work was required to fill an icehouse.
Early in the morning, teams were hitched to sleds, called "bobs",
which were fitted with large boxes to hold the ice. The boxes were the same as
those used on wagons.
Some men, more compassionate than others, warmed their horses’ bits before
they hitched the team. They cupped the bits in their hands and warmed them with
their breath so the icy metal wouldn’t tear the skin on the animals’ mouth.
Horses wore special shoes, called "never–slips", to enable them
to keep their footing on the ice. The neighborhood blacksmith used a special
wrench to screw plugs, somewhat like cleats, into these winter horseshoes.
Never-slips lasted several years, though sometimes it was necessary to have a
horse’s hooves filed down to fit last year’s shoes.
When ice accumulated on the sled runners, the bob had to be hoisted aloft to
break off the ice before the sled could travel on. There were no road scrapers
or snowplows in those days.
At the creek—the ice was marked, and cut with a two-handled, coarse toothed
saw. The bobs were backed onto the ice, the blocks were picked up with large
tongs and loaded into the boxes.
Yes, men fell in, had an icy bath and survived to laugh about their mishaps.
Ice houses were frame structures with double walls. Sawdust was packed
between the walls for insulation; it was piled up against the inside walls, and
on the floor. Each block of ice was surrounded by sawdust as it was stacked in
the building. A space of about six inches was left between ice and walls. When
the building was filled and closed up, it was airtight.
Kenneth said his father had an ice house sixteen feet high. In the summer,
the townspeople bought ice from him to make ice cream.
Bert Codding had a slaughterhouse and an ice house near Mud Creek and County
Road 32. He was the proprietor of a meat market, located northwest of his house
and on the same lot, facing the present Route 64 in Bristol Center. On Tuesdays
and Fridays, he peddled meat kept cold in his wagon by cakes of ice; women
brought their platters out to the wagon to get the fresh meat, none of which was
View of Bristol Center taken from the East Hill Road (County Road 32, now)
facing South Hill.
The Levi S. Corser Memorial Park
In 1979, the Town for future use purchased ten acres opposite the Bristol
Town Hall and Highway Garage. During the 10 intervening years, many attempts and
several Town Administrations have tried to get Federal and State Grants for the
construction of a Town park there. Each effort has proved fruitless, but every
year the attempts were made.
After many rejections, the present Supervisor, Raymond Barend contacted the
United States Army Reserve Unit, Company D 4064th Engineering Battalion of
Canandaigua and arrangements were made for the men to use their weekend training
time toward the construction of the Town Park.
The plans for the park are quite extensive with a running track, 2 tennis
courts, a winter skating rink, soccer field, baseball diamond, as well s 2
pavilions, a tot lot, and a lavatory facility. Many volunteers have also agreed
to give of their time and materials, in conjunction with the Reserve Unit.
By the fall of 1989, the buildings and running track are expected to be
completed, with the baseball diamond, soccer field and possibly one tennis court
scheduled for 1990.
On June 10, 1989, the Park was formally dedicated, as the first part of
Bristol’s Bicentennial Celebration. At 11 A.M., a ceremony on the grounds was
The Reverend Alexius Lopez, pastor of the United Church of Bristol, delivered
the Dedication Litany and Prayer, followed by Reverend A. Potter of Fairport, a
former pastor of the Bristol Congregational Church in the 1940’s and personal
friend of Levi. Reverend Richard Gilbert of Rochester, who grew up and received
his calling to the ministry on Baptist Hill, gave his insight into Bristol.
Former Supervisor, Robert Walworth spoke of the progress made since his
administration had purchased the property for the park. Assemblyman Frank
Talomie of Geneva, our representative in the State Legislature, gave his
reminiscences of Levi and best wishes for the future. Master Sergeant Mitchel
Markus of the Canandaigua Army Reserve Unit and a resident of Bristol spoke on
the behalf of the Unit as to the planned construction schedule.
In attendance were Levi Corser’s widow Eloise, who now resides in
Canandaigua, as well as two of his three daughters, Mrs. Robert (Jane) Culver of
Palmyra and Mrs. Merle (Helen) Fox of Bristol.
"America, The Beautiful" was sung in a duet by Mary Jane Baker and
Joann Fox, both of Bristol.
Following this section of the program, Eloise Corser cut the ribbon to expose
the sign for the Park. The present Town Board helped in the planting of a red
maple tree, as the first part of the park landscaping. Previously, hop vines
were planted in the park, in honor of the hop fields that once provided an
industry in Bristol.
A short tour of the grounds was led by Supervisor Barend to explain the
future location of the facilities in the park. Then everyone adjourned to the
Bristol Firemen’s Hall on Route 64 for a "Pot Luck" luncheon.
It is hoped that the attendance of over 75 at the dedication is a good
indication of future interest and use of this park.
Bristol Planning Board Records
For information concerning Bristol’s location, elevation,
Historical Society of Bristol
Histories of the Churches
School and Tavern records
History of Ontario County, New York
McIntosh and Conover Editions
The Town of Bristol, by Sarah G.P. Kent
Accounts of John Mason
Bristol Fair Association
Levi S. Corser
Political History of the Town of Bristol
Katharine Sisson (Case) Fales
History of the Congregational Church
Industries of Bristol
Elizabeth (Case) Morse
History of the Methodist Church
History of the Historical Society
Helen (Corser) Fox
Editing Industries of Bristol
History of the United Church of Bristol
Background of the Knick Knack Klub
Background of the Harmony Circle
Lucinda M. Perrin
Background of the Bristol Volunteer Fire Dept. & Women’s
M. Shirley Snell
Bristol to Ohio – 1817
School on Baptist Hill
Various individuals reminiscences