Covid-19 Updates

We are continuously posting important information so you can stay up-to-date.   LEARN MORE

Marriage License

Marriage License

Costs: $40.00

Issued at Time of application

For copies of Marriage licenses, see Town Clerk Documents for application.

Where to Apply:

Bristol Town Clerk's Office

6740 County Road 32

Canandaigua, NY 14424

For Requirements see link below:

Getting Married in New York State Pamphlet

The Marriage License

 Where do you get one?

 A couple who intends to be married in New York State must apply in person for a marriage license to any town or city clerk in the state.  The application for a license must be signed by both the bride and groom in the presence of the town or city clerk.  A representative cannot apply for the license on behalf of the bride or groom.  This applies even if the representative has been given the Power of Attorney.  Notarized marriage license affidavits signed by the bride or groom cannot be substituted for their personal appearance.

 Is there a waiting period?

 Yes.  Although the marriage license is issued immediately, the marriage ceremony may not take place within 24 hours from the exact time that the license was issued.  When both applicants are 16 years of age or order, the 24-hour waiting period may be waived by an order of a justice of the Supreme Court or a judge of the County Court of the county in which either the bride or groom resides.  If either person is under 16 years of age, the order must be from the Family Court judge of the county in which the person under 16 years of age resides.

  How long is the license valid?

  A marriage license is valid for 60 days, beginning the day after it is issued.

 How much does it cost?

 If the marriage license is issued by a town or city clerk in New York State outside of New York City, it costs $40.00.  This fee includes the issuance of a Certificate of Marriage Registration.  This certificate is automatically sent by the issuing clerk to the applicants within 15 days after the completed license is returned by the efficient (person who performs the marriage ceremony).  It serves as notice that a record of the marriage is on file.  Couples who do not receive a Certificate of Marriage Registration within four weeks of the wedding should contact the town or city clerk who issued the license.

  Is a premarital physical exam required?

  No premarital examination or blood test is required to obtain a marriage license in New York State.

  Proof of Age and Identity

  A person is required to establish proof of age and identity by submitting to the issuing clerk of the following age related documents:

1.  Certified Transcript of Birth (raised seal - showing your mother's maiden name)

2.  Naturalization Record

 

YOU MUST ALSO BRING YOUR SOCIAL SECURITY CARD WITH YOU, and one of the following identity related documents:

1.  Driver's License

2.  Passport

3.  Immigration Record

 

Previous Marriages

 Information regarding previous marriages must be furnished in the application for a marriage license.  This includes whether the former spouse or spouses are living, and whether the applicants are divorced and, if so, when, where and against whom the divorce or divorces were granted.  A certified copy of the Decree of Divorce or Certificate of Dissolution of Marriage may be required by the clerk issuing the marriage license. If the spouse is deceased, you must also provide a copy of the death certificate.

  Further information concerning the below items may be discussed with the Town Clerk upon application:

 1.  Familial Restrictions

2.  Surname Options

3.  Where a marriage can take place

4.  The Ceremony

5.  Who can perform the Ceremony?